Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 05-06-2004, 08:35 AM

Default MIDI Recording causing Protools to Freeze

I'm new to the Protools and have been experiencing some rather frustrating problems using Protools with recording MIDI.

Each time I attempt to record my second Midi track (using a Korg Triton) Protools freezes. The only way for me to release the session is to close down Protools and reboot the PC. The reboot is needed cause the protools process remains running (hung) even after closing the applicaton.

I've rebooted and re-tried the process however, I experience the same problem each time. I've monitored system resources on my PC at the time and CPU utilization is low and memory utilization seems acceptable (averaging 30% utilization) No other applicatons of unnecessary processes are running at the time.

Here's more info on my session setup:

Hardware & software:
------------------
Protools 6.4, MBOX, PC- P4 2.4GB Processor,512MB, MIDI MAN MIDISport 2x2, Windows XP

Session:
--------
5 MIDI tracks in protools using Midiman MIDI B output triggering MPC3000 samples
2 MIDI track in prottools using Midiman MIDI A output triggering Korg Triton (recorded 1 track without issue, 2nd track record causes Freezing)

Midi Record track is setup as such:
------------------------------------
Midi In A - ALL
Midi Out A - midi channnel 2

Thanks!!!

Old 05-06-2004, 09:43 AM

Default Re: MIDI Recording causing Protools to Freeze

You may need to update the Midiman drivers. They have new drivers and its possible its conflicting with the Mbox USB.

You may also want to change USB ports for the midiman or Mbox. Avoid a hub for either.
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3