Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2014, 10:17 AM
waynehayne waynehayne is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4
Default Pt8 & mbox 2

Happy holidays everyone! I purchased PT and MBOX 2 years ago and I finally unpacked it from the box again. Was busy with family and kids, that's my excuse. I know PT11 is the newest and greatest, are there still people out there using PT8 & MBOX 2? I got the downloads from avid for 8.0.5 so it will work with windows 7 and was wondering should i work in PT 8 before even going to PT11? I'm sure the quality will be fine for my needs (sending demos to local establishments, soundcloud and etc...) your feedback is greatly appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-23-2014, 05:03 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,147
Default Re: Pt8 & mbox 2

Nothing wrong with using LE8 to get started and you would install the 8.0.5 update AFTER installing LE as its only an update. Having said that, if you are just now getting around to registering, you may be eligible for a discounted upgrade to 11, and, depending on the computer, 11 might give you better performance as it is fully 64 bit software now(LE, 9 and 10 are 32 bit apps that RUN on a 64 bit machine). If your computer has 8GB or more of RAM installed, 11 will actually utilize it(with LE, Pro Tools will not access more than around 2.7GB iirc).

BTW, 11 does require an iLok2(LE uses the Mbox as the "dongle")
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-29-2014, 03:52 PM
waynehayne waynehayne is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4
Default Re: Pt8 & mbox 2

Thanks for your feedback!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protools 11 & Mbox Pro have playback problem with Mbox Factory & Digirack 3 project hiennguyen Windows 0 09-04-2014 01:02 AM
Mbox mix knob always plays a drum track,Mbox 2 and Pro-tools LE 8: Haezel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-20-2011 03:58 AM
Digi Tech Suppport? Pfft!!! Mbox/Mbox academic Questions WestPhillySoulzition 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-17-2008 02:03 PM
MBOX Noise Blasts-user warning? mbox recall? doubtful guest 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-03-2007 02:47 AM
Mbox 2 Pro vs Mbox latency - Mbox 2 Mini pro? marcnyc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-28-2006 09:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com