Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2011, 04:09 PM
PastaViking II PastaViking II is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: next door...
Posts: 750
Question iLok/pace crashes PT9 install

I've been trying to install PT9 on my Snow Leopard Macbook but the installer fails every time. By examining the installer components, I've found the problem to be that I can't install Pace app drivers on my computer for some reason.

I've tried to install Pace drivers separately from their website but no luck. I've also tried several other workarounds but still no luck.

I've actually managed to install ProTools 9 but it says that it can't connect with the iLok upon launch.

Has anyone else had this problem and successfully solved it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-03-2011, 09:37 AM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: iLok/pace crashes PT9 install

Humm. I already had old Pace drivers on my computer but was able to install the latest drivers from their web site.

What happens when you go to the web site and try? What error message do you get? Is your ilok pugged in?
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-2011, 06:30 AM
PastaViking II PastaViking II is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: next door...
Posts: 750
Smile Worked it out!

Someone suggested repairing disk permissions which I'd already done but then it made me think that maybe somehow some permissions had gotten screwed up and that it couldn't be fixed by Disk Utility...

So I went to my home folder and got info on "Library" and checked that I was the owner of the folder and then applied "to all enclosing" making sure that all files and folders in there were accessible to the system.

And VOILA! it worked. Somehow something in my home folder library was denying the installer access.

Someone might find this tip helpful...

:) pv
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pace Ilok randrohe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-19-2010 08:22 AM
iLok - Pace MIA? HassanDavis Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 02-21-2009 12:31 PM
Pace - Install or Not? akakpaws 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-06-2009 10:19 AM
7.4.2 HD keeps asking for new Pace Extension then crashes... tlester Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 07-22-2008 01:56 PM
iLok/PACE question jpoprock 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-28-2003 08:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com