Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-10-2008, 09:47 AM
Fidelis Fidelis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil
Posts: 978
Default MBox2 mini and MacBook no go

Long time Protools user mainly on TDM plataform. I have my 4th system now, first was an Audiomedia then Protools 3 TDM , then Protools Mix3 and now HD3 Accel. I NEVER had a problem with Protools installers, software or hardware.

Last week, I decided to by an PT Le system so I could edit my sessions when out of town (I'm on a big tour this year) on my MacBook. So I bought a MBox2 mini.

First, installing the software (PT 7.4.2) took me more then 6 hours. The installer didn't install the plugins and gave me an error. "could not write on "/"..." and quit. Tried every sugestion like install only application, and then after reboot just plugins and then just bombfactory, but nothing worked. So I downloaded the installer again thinking it should be corrupted but the same problem persisted. Then I did a repair permissions. Nothing. Then I decided to upgrade my OSX from 10.5.3 to 10.5.4. Nothing changed.

The only way to install it was using Pacifist. It also gave me some errors but I did manage to install everything! WOW Digi, what's going on here? It should be so simple!

But that's just the first part. Now the big problem. Protools doesn't find the hardware. The Mbox just doesn't light up. So I thought it could be broken. But when I plug it in my friend's PowerBook G4 it works! And it also works on a Mac mini I just have here. What a hell? Tried diferent USB cable, changed USB port, and nothing!

Just so you know I have everything right. MacBook last generation, OSX 10.5.4, 2.5 GB RAM. And I tested my USB ports with mouse, pen drive, USB extrenal drive, and both of them are working ok!

Any help apprecciated. Or I'll just have to return it...
__________________
http://www.ricardomosca.com

Intel Mac Pro 12 core 3.33 GHz, 20GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, PT HDX, PT 12.8, SSL 4040G+, tons of outboard
Mac Book Pro 2.4Ghz Duo, 4GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, PT Vanilla 12.8
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-10-2008, 12:58 PM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,200
Default

Do you have more than one user account on your macbook?

Aslo, you need to be aware that Mbox's require specific USB ports to function correctly on a Macbook, You'll need to check the support pages to confirm this for your machine. You should however, still be able to boot, using the wrong port creates sporadic errors.
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-10-2008, 06:22 PM
Fidelis Fidelis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil
Posts: 978
Default

Oh, I don't have more than one account but I also tried to create another account to make it work there but still a no go.

As far as USB ports, i tried on both of them and it doesn't even lights up... no boot, nothing.

But thanks anyway. Anyone else? Digi?
__________________
http://www.ricardomosca.com

Intel Mac Pro 12 core 3.33 GHz, 20GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, PT HDX, PT 12.8, SSL 4040G+, tons of outboard
Mac Book Pro 2.4Ghz Duo, 4GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, PT Vanilla 12.8
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-11-2008, 09:46 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,647
Default

Typically, if the workaround with installing each component individually doesn't work, it means there is an OS issue and you should reinstall the OS. This should take less than an hour - typically 15-20 minutes if you use the Archive and Install option. Then reinstall Pro Tools.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-11-2008, 10:36 AM
Fidelis Fidelis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil
Posts: 978
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Typically, if the workaround with installing each component individually doesn't work, it means there is an OS issue and you should reinstall the OS. This should take less than an hour - typically 15-20 minutes if you use the Archive and Install option. Then reinstall Pro Tools.
Hi Digi,

Thanks for the info but, maybe you didn't read it thru the end. I did install the Protols software. The problem now is that it can't find the hardware. Mbox doesn't boot! No light, nothing! Doesn't seem like a software problem.

Any ideias?
__________________
http://www.ricardomosca.com

Intel Mac Pro 12 core 3.33 GHz, 20GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, PT HDX, PT 12.8, SSL 4040G+, tons of outboard
Mac Book Pro 2.4Ghz Duo, 4GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, PT Vanilla 12.8
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-11-2008, 10:45 AM
farhadkd farhadkd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 18
Smile Well.... ,

Reflect, Repent, Reload, re-install, reboot.......order shall return!!!!

Oh, and use the USB port nearer to the MagSafe adapter on a MacBook or MacBookPro. Should be fine....

Cheers,

Farhad
__________________
In the end, it comes down to 3 chords and the truth...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-11-2008, 01:55 PM
Awesome Awesome is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 39
Default Same here Fidelis

I just bought a new Macbook and I bought
an Mbox Mini today.

Been using ProTools for a long time and this is the first time that everything
has gone wrong.

What you wrote about the software not installing with the "/" error and
the Mbox Mini USB light not going on all happened to me exactly the same.

I'm not sure what the software "Pacifist" is but I don't think this is very pro.
I hope this problem gets remedied immediately or I will have to take this back!

Incredible.
I just bought this not an hour ago and I'm already on the Support Forum!

Please Help Digi.

Thanks.
__________________
Macbook 2.4GHZ 2 gig ram
MBox 2 Mini
Apogee Ensemble
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-12-2008, 10:38 AM
Fidelis Fidelis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil
Posts: 978
Default

Did some more testing today. Booting from an external drive with Tiger and Protools 7.4 everything works great, so my USB ports are working right.

I'll try to reisntall OSX...

it's the only way to go now
__________________
http://www.ricardomosca.com

Intel Mac Pro 12 core 3.33 GHz, 20GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, PT HDX, PT 12.8, SSL 4040G+, tons of outboard
Mac Book Pro 2.4Ghz Duo, 4GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, PT Vanilla 12.8
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-12-2008, 11:22 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,647
Default

I'd like to have you try something.

Go to MacHD>Library>Application Support and trash the Digidesign folder, empty the trash, restart and try the installer again.

Let me know if that works.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-12-2008, 11:23 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,647
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fidelis View Post
Hi Digi,

Thanks for the info but, maybe you didn't read it thru the end. I did install the Protols software. The problem now is that it can't find the hardware. Mbox doesn't boot! No light, nothing! Doesn't seem like a software problem.

Any ideias?
In this case I think using Pacifist did not install the drivers correctly, which is why it won't find the hardware.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacBook won't recognize mbox2 mini. No light on and drivers installed! Afwfjustin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 07-25-2012 04:31 AM
Mbox2 Mini causing MacBook Pro to hang on shutdown... AdamPT8 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 10-26-2009 05:07 AM
A Macbook, an MBox2 Mini and ever flowing '-6061' errors will the moor 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-13-2009 11:28 PM
mbox2 pro and mbox mini on same macbook? sgladm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-15-2007 07:57 AM
Macbook 1.83ghz Core 2 Duo and Mbox2/Mbox2 Pro fhqwhgads 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 12-12-2006 10:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com