Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 11-15-2007, 09:20 PM

Default Which Surround Monitor Controller...

... would you recommend. I've been using the SPL but am not totally thrilled. It's a bit clunky & big on my desk, doesn't have talkback, has already bust a channel once. Been looking at the C|24 but it's a bit overkill as I'm a composer... would love to have just its master section! I love the grace 906, but not sure why I would need any onboard d/a converters. I do need at least 2 stereo ins, which the coleman doesn't seem to have.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks so much!
Joel
Old 11-16-2007, 12:01 AM

Default Re: Which Surround Monitor Controller...

Hi Joe,

if you have the money, i recommand the RTW 30900.

Newest feature: a Dolby E decoder is in the box or you can buy a SDI Deembedder instead.

Some highlights?

You can flip ch 7/8 to L/R. A professional 8 ch. multimeter is inside.
You can choose cut or solo for each channel.
plus,plus.

Take a look at www.rtw.de

My 2 cents

Jochen
Old 11-16-2007, 12:23 AM

You may take a look at studio tech's stuff:

Studiotech

This one looks like what you want (simple, talkback function, 2 stereo inputs)

Picture
Old 11-16-2007, 05:20 AM

Hi Jochen,

RTW looks very interesting, I have not actually seen one. A couple of questions about it, is talkback possible? Is there bass management? Another concern is sample rate. It looks like an external clock is required, is that right? The box does not support 192kHz. So, if you had to work on a 192kHz job, it looks like you'd have to use a different clock to drive the RTM and then monitor analog inputs or find some other way to samplerate convert.
Old 11-16-2007, 05:32 AM