Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-17-2008, 09:57 PM
raiderrob raiderrob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 51
Default Digi 003 External Word Clock

I'm hoping someone can educate me on this topic. I have an 002 and I am about to upgrade to the 003. I have read several articles/posts about people who have the 003 clocked with an Eventide FW 8000. They claim that this "tightens" up your bottom end. Now, Im no expert at this stuff, but how can a word clock affect that?

I use no external sound modules (I use virtual instruments in Reason), and I am mostly using loops and mic'd guitars. Is there any reason for me to consider using an external clock? I have always used the clock in the Digi.

I am also considering buying a mic preamp with a light pipe connection. Would it be smart to clock the digi and the preamp with an external clock or can I just let the Digi clock it?

Thanks for your help ...

Rob
__________________
Digi 002, Pro Tools LE 8.0.3, iMac - 2.8 GHz Core Duo Extreme - 2 Gigabytes of RAM, Reason 3.05, Presonus DIGIMAX FS, Mackie HR 824 Monitors,
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-18-2008, 02:20 AM
Ian Palmer Ian Palmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 141
Default Re: Digi 003 External Word Clock

What the heck?!?! I would agree, how can a part of a system used for synchronization affect the sound? Now, some things can affect the sound in very odd ways but this seems daft.

Anyone care to explain this one?

Rob - can you tell us where you saw these posts/articles?

Ian
__________________
Ian Palmer
Sound Designer & Dubbing Mixer
@ianpalmersound

Website
IMDB

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-18-2008, 05:13 AM
Phil Ogden Phil Ogden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,109
Default Re: Digi 003 External Word Clock

At the price point of the 002/003, certain compromises inevitably have to be made regarding components including the internal digital clock. I think it's generally accepted that audio quality can be improved with better converters/clocking. High end word clock devices will be more stable and suffer less from digital 'jitter' which a consequential benefit to audio quality (stereo image, depth, high frequency representation etc). However, there's a price to pay for any incremental improvement.


http://www.myspace.com/philogg
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-18-2008, 12:46 PM
raiderrob raiderrob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 51
Default Re: Digi 003 External Word Clock

Here is a URL to one such post ...

http://www.mio.co.za/forums/index.php?showtopic=11682

Scroll to the bottom post to see where I got this idea from.

Can anyone help recommend an external word clock that would be good for a project studio? I really don't have the cash to pay for the Eventide option right now. Is there a dedicated word clock that is good quality (better than the 002) but not a million bucks?
__________________
Digi 002, Pro Tools LE 8.0.3, iMac - 2.8 GHz Core Duo Extreme - 2 Gigabytes of RAM, Reason 3.05, Presonus DIGIMAX FS, Mackie HR 824 Monitors,
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-18-2008, 04:15 PM
Ziko Ziko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 223
Default Re: Digi 003 External Word Clock

It's worth bearing in mind that if you're someone who works with VIs mainly and doesn't record audio, you'll only see the benefits in terms of the DA conversion your system does as it converts your master output to analog to send to your monitors.

People who do lots of audio tracking get the extra benefit of better AD conversion as their analog signals are converted to digital on the way into Pro Tools.

Personally, I'd question the value/cost equation for a VI user.
__________________
Macbook Pro 2.4 GHz, OSX 10.5.5, PTLE 8 + MPT, 003R Factory, Apogee Mini-Me
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External word clock source for 192? jrmintz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 04-08-2010 09:35 PM
Do I Need an External Word Clock? Sparky1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-27-2006 06:33 PM
using an external word clock CartoonBrad 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 07-08-2004 11:07 PM
EXTERNAL WORD CLOCK TO 96 or 192 I/O ManhtnProjct Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 03-02-2002 12:53 AM
Digi 001+external word clock=amazing results? DMK 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-07-2002 06:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com