Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-14-2005, 09:24 AM
alejo alejo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
Default External Clock Source for Digi 002

I´d like to know if any of you could report an audible increase in dynamic range in the digi 002 when clocking it from an external source clock via SPDIF, I am thinking of buying an Apogee BigBen to do this, is it really worth it??? has anyone tried this?

Thank you very much for your time.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-14-2005, 09:36 AM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: External Clock Source for Digi 002

The dynamic range isn't determined by the clock source, it's determine by the bit depth. That's not to say clock quality doesn't affect sound, it does - but not dynamic range.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-14-2005, 09:43 AM
C52382P C52382P is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Smithfield, VA
Posts: 336
Default Re: External Clock Source for Digi 002

A high end low jitter clock source is always a good idea man. Ive heard the difference between an 002 on its internal clock and one clocked from an apogee rosetta and the difference is definitely there.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-14-2005, 09:57 AM
alejo alejo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
Default Re: External Clock Source for Digi 002

A better clock gives superior dynamic range, that´s for sure. That´s why different machines with the same bit depht have different DR, being always proportional to the jitter in the clock. What I don´t know is if a consumer interface like SPDIF is capable of increasing the conversion quality of the 002, using it with a superb clock, like the BigBen.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-14-2005, 10:53 AM
C52382P C52382P is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Smithfield, VA
Posts: 336
Default Re: External Clock Source for Digi 002

Youll get better sound from a better clock on your 002. I've heard it. I dunno if its to do with the dynamic range. Tele usually seems to have a good grasp of these things from what I've seen of his posts so I'm inclined to say hes right. I would imagine that having the low jitter clock makes each sample closer to dead accurate in its position in the audio stream. I would guess that the reason this opens up a mix more is because it gets rid of alot of phase issues and such. To me the highs dont sound any higher and the lows dont sound any lower....everything just sounds clearer. I noticed the effect of a better clock source was most apparent as far as the width and clarity of the stereo image from our overheads are concerned.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-14-2005, 12:14 PM
Chris Shaeffer Chris Shaeffer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 163
Default Re: External Clock Source for Digi 002

The clock determines when your converter takes a sample of your audio.

A low quality clock makes mistakes at least 44,100 times every second- both when recording AND when playing back. That adds up pretty quick.

A high quality clock doesn't do that. That's why they cost so much. What goes in and what comes out don't have those tiny timing mistakes all over the place making your audio a little less clear.

You better believe that has an effect on your sound quality!!

The clock in the 002 isn't horrible, but even clocking my system off a TC Electronic Finalizer Plus seems to make the system a bit clearer. Most external clocks are in the same price category as the entire 002 or 002r, though.

Take care,
Chris
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Default to External Clock Source? blizzard 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 04-19-2011 09:46 PM
External word clock source for 192? jrmintz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 04-08-2010 09:35 PM
Setting up Digi 002 to External Clock source????? SmoTools Post - Surround - Video 5 08-17-2006 12:30 PM
External clock source invalid Fergus Kelly 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-22-2006 02:39 PM
External Clock Source 002 foisyt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-12-2005 10:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com