Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-2007, 01:54 PM
jimbojimbo jimbojimbo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 218
Default 002R Preamp and Outboard preamp

hey,

I've been using my Focusrite Platinum Voice Master (the original, not pro) for years now, in various different interfaces - results have always been great.

However, since I've got my DIGI 002R (which is wonderful) I've been experiencing problems when using both items together.

The main problem being that I cant push the Focusrite to its full potential because of the preamp (I think) on the 002R. The best way I've found is to play around with the volumes on both until the results are better, however I'm still not getting it perfect - the focusrite is still not getting to where it should.


Is there a way to NOT USE the preamp on the 002R, or am I effectively doing that by having the volume down low, or at zero?

Thanks!
__________________
View my website:

James Arter Music
www.jamesarter.com

Soundcloud
http://www.soundcloud.com/happybunnyproductions
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-16-2007, 03:14 PM
OddsAre OddsAre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: 002R Preamp and Outboard preamp

Jim, in order to use an external mic pre, you want to run into the 002 using Line inputs, not through the mic pres. Basically you would be adding noise and gain twice in a row otherwise. So if you are gonna use Inputs 1-4 on the 002, which I don't advise but I'll explain why in a second, you must make sure the Mic/Line/Inst button on the front of the 002 is in the out position (not pushed in) and turn the gain knob all the way down. This sets the input to Line Level and optimizes it for an external pre. Click this link below and scroll to my response at the bottom for the reason why I don't like using Inputs 1-4 on the 002.

http://duc.digidesign.com/showflat.p...part=1#1142430

So that being said, use Line Inputs 5-8 on the back of the Digi 002. Remember to set them to +4 for balanced Pro Audio and make sure to connect the Platinum to the Digi using Balanced cables (TRS to TRS or TRS to XLR) NOT unbalanced guitar cables (TS to TS). This should help things immensely.
__________________
Mac Book Pro Retina 2.6 GHz i7 Quad | 16GB | OSX 10.8.5 | Digi 002 | Apogee Rosetta 800/96 | PT 10 | Waves Gold/RevMaxx V9
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-16-2007, 03:44 PM
jimbojimbo jimbojimbo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 218
Default Re: 002R Preamp and Outboard preamp

Thanks alot mate...

That makes alot of sense. I thought I'd cracked it the other day because I tried using the instrument input but it didnt seem to solve my problem - it helped, but didnt solve it.

So thats that, I'm guna stick them through the 5 - 8 inputs from now on.

Appreciate that, a lot.

Thanks!
__________________
View my website:

James Arter Music
www.jamesarter.com

Soundcloud
http://www.soundcloud.com/happybunnyproductions
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-21-2007, 06:49 AM
tpthai2 tpthai2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 112
Default Re: 002R Preamp and Outboard preamp/Great Tip!

That is a great tip. Thanks. I have been trying to tweak my pre into #1 through #4. Just changed to #5 and what a
difference. Thanks again, greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using outboard Preamp/Bypassing Mbox2 Preamp KennyC 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 06-10-2007 12:00 PM
outboard mixer or preamp with MBOX robert-l Tips & Tricks 17 07-12-2004 01:58 PM
Studio Projects VTB1 preamp vs ART TPS-II preamp?? ESR 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 06-28-2004 09:23 PM
I'm torn.. Digi001 with better preamp or Digi002 with cheaper preamp/future upgrade Siberian 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 02-05-2003 11:22 PM
Can't insert outboard processor after 001's preamp, right? Kickin.da.speaker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 05-20-2002 03:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com