Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 06-09-2007, 02:57 PM

Default Digitizing Vinyl

I have a vinyl collection that I would like to digitize to hard drive. I already have an excellent analog system from TT to phono amp (I understand the RIAA curve), ibook g4 and 500GB hard drive. I have been putting my CDs to hard drive already in Apple Lossless format with iTunes. I'm not a musician and don't need microphone inputs, etc but I do need an excellent analog to digital converter as the QUALITY is what's important to me. iTunes, playlists, etc sure makes it simple to listen to music when you are busy but I want it as close to vinyl sound as possible.

I've been looking for a good analog to digital converter and have found the Mbox2 Pro which has RCA jacks for a phono preamp input. I'm looking to buy something soon but haven't ordered yet. I realize the questions are probably pretty basic for someone used to digitizing music but I'm pretty ignorant so far and trying to do it right/purchase appropriate equipment the first time.

1. Is this a good choice for me? Or would you recommend anything else for what I want to accomplish?

2. Does the ibook automatically configure to accept sound input from the FW port or does one have to change settings to accomplish that?

3. What format am I recording to the hard drive from the Mbox2 Pro and how do I go about getting it into apple lossless on iTunes? When I put a CD in iTunes automatically asks me if I want to rip the CD but I doubt that's going to happen with a FW input from the Mbox.