Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-30-2013, 02:40 AM
TheKey555777 TheKey555777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: 48038, Michigan
Posts: 5
Default Can't hear anything on my Pro Tools 10

Why can't I hear any music on my Pro Tools 10? When I press play to hear my music, I never can hear my Pro Tools 10 play anything.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-30-2013, 03:32 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,872
Default Re: Can't hear anything on my Pro Tools 10

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=300050
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-30-2013, 04:17 AM
TheKey555777 TheKey555777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: 48038, Michigan
Posts: 5
Default Re: Can't hear anything on my Pro Tools 10

I press play to play virtual instruments and I don't hear anything.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-30-2013, 05:53 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,156
Default Re: Can't hear anything on my Pro Tools 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheKey555777 View Post
I press play to play virtual instruments and I don't hear anything.
Please read and follow what Tom linked to above. The crew here are more than willing to help but we need more information. And not just system setup, etc. mentioned in the linked page but also exactly what you are doing or trying to do.

Also see this little bit of stuff I wrote up as it covers a lot of ground that could help you as well.

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=336219
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-31-2013, 08:17 AM
TheKey555777 TheKey555777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: 48038, Michigan
Posts: 5
Default Re: Can't hear anything on my Pro Tools 10

I just need to know how to be able to hear my Pro Tools play anything.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-31-2013, 08:37 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,156
Default Re: Can't hear anything on my Pro Tools 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheKey555777 View Post
I just need to know how to be able to hear my Pro Tools play anything.
You need to read the documentation that came with Pro Tools. Also get yourself the PT101 for Pro Tools 10 book. That will take newbie's like yourself from zero to recording your first stuff.

http://www.amazon.com/Pro-Tools-101-...=pro+tools+101

Also comes with a dvd.

Did you read the page here on the DUC I linked to? Several good things here. We can't do it all for you - you have to do some learning yourself. You're asking some basic stuff that can be answered by doing some judicious reading of the existing material.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-31-2013, 02:47 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,606
Default Re: Can't hear anything on my Pro Tools 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheKey555777 View Post
I just need to know how to be able to hear my Pro Tools play anything.
What interface? What OS? Are drivers installed? Can you record? What are you trying to hear play back? Where are you monitoring from? Headphones? Monitors? Built in?

We can't help you until we have a lot more info.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-31-2013, 04:08 PM
RegenerationMix RegenerationMix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 752
Default Re: Can't hear anything on my Pro Tools 10

How is your mixer setup and routed?

are you trying to play existing tracks/ samples, live VIs?

Do you have a midi track triggering the Virtual instruments? are you triggering the virtual instruments manually? do you have a midi controller? Is your midi setup at all?

are you trying to record? Is a track armed? are you auditioning the VI? Which VI?

Do you have your inputs and outputs setup? Does your mixer have an output? are the tracks setup to the output? are you monitoring form the output?

As was asked earlier, do you have an interface? which one? is it connected and seen by Pro tools?

info, info, info,

You need to give us your setup info and what you are doing and what doesn happen for us to help you. We can not magically answer why your "Pro Tools" doesnt play.



Chris
__________________
http://www.youtube.com/user/RegenerationMix

http://soundcloud.com/regenerationmix

http://twitter.com/regenerationmix


MacBook Pro, 2.4GHZ, 16GB, Intel Core i7, Mac OS 10.9.1 128 SSD internal HD, 750 GB Internal HD, Pro Tools 10.3.8, Digidesign 003r, Waves 8.0, Final Cut Pro 7
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-31-2013, 04:31 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,156
Default Re: Can't hear anything on my Pro Tools 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benoni View Post
What interface? What OS? Are drivers installed? Can you record? What are you trying to hear play back? Where are you monitoring from? Headphones? Monitors? Built in?

We can't help you until we have a lot more info.
Sadly the op seems to be what I'm seeing more and more of on the DUC lately - those that think PT is plug and play software, they need no technical knowledge on how things work and that we here are psychics in diagnosing problems with minimal or no info.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-31-2013, 06:33 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,627
Default Re: Can't hear anything on my Pro Tools 10

Really would be a good idea to request some kind of idea scale information asking avid to include more types of videos with the actual purchase that way a lot of these Type of I/o questions / getting started questions are really taking care of At the time of purchase while the user is installing the software

Because let's all be honest we would all rather watch a cool video about how to set it up then read the manual
I'm not saying there's not a place for the manual. But maybe not on the install For the M box crowd
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't hear any sound with 11R/Pro Tools 10 weeee349 Eleven Rack 3 02-20-2015 10:17 AM
Still can't hear anything coming out of Pro Tools 10 92PrimeTime macOS 9 04-10-2012 07:18 AM
Can't Hear Any Audio In Pro Tools SE! HELP! ThePizzaHutGuy Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 0 01-13-2012 04:21 PM
Can't hear anything in Pro Tools? skaterfan93 Pro Tools 9 7 11-04-2011 02:51 AM
Let me hear your digi 001,Post your music that you record hear optymusblu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-05-2003 12:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com