Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #201  
Old 03-24-2008, 03:22 AM
marfbeatz marfbeatz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Austria
Posts: 12
Default Re: Mac Pro/HD3 boot-up problem

Quote:
All,

I had the problem and was beta tester for new cards. I don't know what Digi support discovered with other beta testers, but with new Core and Accel cards installed in my 2.66 MacPro the problem has been resolved. I have been running clean for more than 2 months and dozens of boots. My understanding is that the issue relates to the failure of send and acknowledgement messages that occur between the PCIe cards and the Mac during the power up process. Apparently the interaction gets stuck in a kind of loop mode and therefore hangs.


Scot
Scot,

Did Digidesign exchange your Cards cause you had these problems, or where you a beta tester for these new cards anyway?

Thanks
__________________
*********************************

MacPro 8-core, 2.8Ghz 10GB Ram
4x500GB internal Sata Drives,
NO
external FW or USB drives,
Leopard 10.5.5,
PTHD3 Accel PCIe (internal - NO Magma)
PT 8.0cs1
latest Pro Application Support update
D-Command
2x96 I/O

My Songwriter & Recording Studio Site

*********************************
Reply With Quote
  #202  
Old 03-24-2008, 08:27 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,521
Default Re: Mac Pro/HD3 boot-up problem

For anyone experiencing the problem of their Mac not booting with HD cards installed, please contact tech support for information on how to get your cards swapped.

This problem is due to some changes in PCI bus timing - often the Mac firmware update will fix it, but in those cases it does not, we can provide you with cards that have an updated component to alleviate the problem.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #203  
Old 03-24-2008, 09:16 AM
mgrimm mgrimm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 40
Default Re: Mac Pro/HD3 boot-up problem

Will this update be offered up for installation when we check for software updates in the mac OS or is there a site where we can explicitly download the required update?
Reply With Quote
  #204  
Old 03-25-2008, 08:52 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,521
Default Re: Mac Pro/HD3 boot-up problem

Quote:
Will this update be offered up for installation when we check for software updates in the mac OS or is there a site where we can explicitly download the required update?
Yes, it should show up in Software Update if your computer is in need of a new firmware version.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #205  
Old 06-04-2008, 09:39 AM
MixerGuy MixerGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA CA USA
Posts: 804
Default Re: Mac Pro/HD3 boot-up problem

Quote:
For anyone experiencing the problem of their Mac not booting with HD cards installed, please contact tech support for information on how to get your cards swapped.

This problem is due to some changes in PCI bus timing - often the Mac firmware update will fix it, but in those cases it does not, we can provide you with cards that have an updated component to alleviate the problem.
I'm having this problem.... i'm so glad i found this thread!

Reply With Quote
  #206  
Old 11-02-2009, 12:40 PM
STL Audio STL Audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 31
Default Re: Mac Pro/HD3 boot-up problem

Hi guys,

I experienced this problem big time most days would take me 3-6 times to get this mac going. ( 2 x Quad 3GHZ Mac Pro 2,1).

I learned to live with it because its so random and didnt effect daily use until...... its started randomly restarting itself a few days ago. It would do this no matter what I was doing or had connected to it.

I called apple ( its under apple care) and they had me do a permissions repair from the install disc, they reckon that is different from inside the OS.

It worked I have had it going for a few days and not once have i even had a shaky start up and its not crashing.

Hope this help , and I hope that just because I posted it doesnt start again!

tko
Reply With Quote
  #207  
Old 05-21-2011, 08:07 AM
dj_dap dj_dap is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: Mac Pro/HD3 boot-up problem

Hi Digidesign Support.
Do I actually have to pay 79 dollars to speak with someone so I can exchange my HD3 which gives me the grey boot up screen? Can I take it to a dealer? I do not have access to the original dealer as they are out of business.

Can you please help? It seems unfair that I should have to pay 79 dollars to talk to you to exchange something that is a known hardware bug.

Thanks,
Daniel
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LE 7.3 boot problem dmf 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 08-14-2009 07:21 AM
g5 boot problem... usd Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 02-18-2009 12:34 PM
Boot Problem with OS9 UTS Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 01-15-2005 09:55 AM
A7N8X PC with a boot up problem! iceblueD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 15 12-30-2004 09:40 AM
OSX Boot problem Reckless Erik Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 09-24-2003 02:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com