Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-10-2018, 11:59 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 14,815
Default Re: Create new audio tracks - spinning wheel

You don't have anything in your system set to go to sleep do you?
Anything else running while you're working in PT?
Any wireless stuff going on?
Do you have AppNap turned off for PT?
Do you have any of your drives in the 'privacy' section of Spotlight (IOW is your computer trying to index any drives)? I have all my drives listed in the privacy section so there's no indexing going on.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-10-2018, 12:33 PM
sixpointmusic sixpointmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: los angeles
Posts: 6
Default Re: Create new audio tracks - spinning wheel

I found a little trick.

So I created a blank session and created 96 audio tracks(maximum tracks for my system) no plugins or anything, just tracks, saved, then open (without quitting PT) my working session which has lots of plugins and instruments, etc.
When I do this, I get no spinning wheel at all even if I create 10 new tracks, 30 new tracks, they instantly become available. Magical.

So this trick works only when I do it in this order:
1: Start PT
2: Open the blank 96tracks session that I created and saved before.
3: Then open my working session without quitting PT.

Once I quit PT, I have to do this trick again, otherwise I get the wheel.

I don't understand why this works, maybe my PT has to learn how to handle audio tracks before I start working? and ideally I don't wanna do this every time but it's better than seeing the wheel!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-12-2018, 04:11 PM
sixpointmusic sixpointmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: los angeles
Posts: 6
Default Re: Create new audio tracks - spinning wheel

Thanks for the comment.
I don't have anything set to go sleep.
I tried everything, quit all other programs, turned off wifi/blue tooth, turned off AppNap for PT, and put all drives in the Spotlight's privacy section, didn't make any difference...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pt 12.5.2 (spinning wheel when creating tracks) danloz Pro Tools 12 0 09-23-2016 08:47 AM
Spinning wheel of death protoolsuserman Pro Tools Software (Mac) 2 07-26-2014 05:15 PM
Spinning wheel of death again Stickman7 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-22-2010 04:05 PM
Spinning wheel of death Stickman7 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 09-25-2009 06:42 PM
Spinning Wheel when playin audio Defekt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 05-06-2008 07:45 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com