Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-27-2016, 05:07 PM
booshganoosh booshganoosh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: 633 upper james
Posts: 75
Default Cannot open pro tools 10 due to ilok issue

i was recording last night and have been for the past while. tonight i tried to open a session in protools and i am getting this error message.


Error, missing iLok authorization for "Pro Tools 10". Please insert the necessary iLok and restart Pro Tools.

ilok is in as it always was. not sure how to correct this. any help is appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-27-2016, 05:12 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,014
Default Re: Cannot open pro tools due to ilok issue

Move the ilok to a different port and make sure that no usb power saving features are On.

Also if you are on USB3 ports (mainly mac) then you might need a USB2 hub for the ilok which doesn't love USB3'ports much amd we had these fallouts until we bought usb2 hubs for all the macs.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-28-2016, 05:22 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,579
Default Re: Cannot open pro tools due to ilok issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Move the ilok to a different port and make sure that no usb power saving features are On.

Also if you are on USB3 ports (mainly mac) then you might need a USB2 hub for the ilok which doesn't love USB3'ports much amd we had these fallouts until we bought usb2 hubs for all the macs.
Also try unplugging and replugging in the iLok. A while back I lost communication with my iLok and the little blue light on it was out and this solved the issue (iMac with USB2 ports). I see by your profile that you're on a Mac Mini. I have one as my Photoshop and internet machine and those USB ports on the back are very close together. Close enough that an iLok will have trouble fitting securely. If that's your setup then get what's called a 'dongle buddy' which is a short extension cable that goes between the computer port and the iLok.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-28-2016, 01:19 PM
booshganoosh booshganoosh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: 633 upper james
Posts: 75
Default Re: Cannot open pro tools due to ilok issue

i did try unplugging and plugging in. with the error message it asks to restart pro tools. i did what i said earlier and restarted my computer completely with no change. i will try again tonight. thank you for the response friends much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools Installation and iLok Issue Matthew.protools Getting Started 7 02-08-2015 07:18 PM
Ilok Issue with pro tools 10 (Mac / Windows) mmk macOS 0 04-13-2012 12:45 PM
Pro Tools 9 to 10 ilok will not surrender issue gdrum macOS 3 10-24-2011 06:13 AM
How do i open pro tools 9 without the interface? just with the ilok? jcche19 Windows 5 01-15-2011 05:50 PM
Can't open Pro Tools 8! Requires iLok? DJ Hellfire 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 04-04-2009 06:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com