Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S6

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #91  
Old 06-18-2020, 07:10 AM
skilletaudio skilletaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 76
Default Re: S6 Tip ‘o the Day

Sweet thanks a bunch, I think I have watched most of these and made a scrivener file with notes. This is super handy I have added it to the list.
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 06-19-2020, 04:18 AM
megatracks's Avatar
megatracks megatracks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Lincoln CA
Posts: 37
Default Re: Nulling Parameter Values

Thank you Jeff. A great help!!


Avid S6M40-32-5D, MTRX (2), Barefoot MM26, PT Ultimate HDX3, CB TMC1 S6 Penta
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 09-06-2020, 11:08 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,130
Default 3 Ways: Layouts

Let's jump back in and share some tips! One of the great things on the S4 or S6 surface is the number of parallel functions. Let's discuss three different ways to accomplish the same task and you can choose the one most appropriate for your workflow.

[LAYOUTS]

(1) Press the Layouts Mode switch near the top of the Master Module physical buttons, then press one of the Soft Key switches to recall a specific layout. If the Soft Keys Layout view is persistent (preferences), successive presses of any layout will first recall and then close that Layout view.

(2) Hold Shift (lower track color switch on Fader Module) while pressing the / switch on the numeric section of the Automation Module. This will bring up the first 6 Track and Meter Layouts on the lower-right Soft Keys panel of the Automation Module.

(3) From the Tracks page, press Recall to bring up a grid of existing Layouts organized vertically. Simply Touch a numbered / labeled block from the grid to recall that specific Layout.


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 09-07-2020, 06:53 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,130
Default 3 Ways: Banking

[BANKING]

(1) Use the dedicated switches on the Master Module to bank in chunks of 8 or by the total number of faders on the Whole Surface (User > Settings).

(2) Use the Track Color switches at the bottom of each Fader Module - specifically the User 1 and User 2 switches to bank from anywhere on the desk. If within an open Spill Zone (for VCAs or Track Layouts), the User 1 and User 2 switches will bank the contents of the Spill Zone.

(3) Hold the modifiers Shift + Control while clicking on a Track Name in Pro Tools to Bank the desk and justify the selected track based on the preference Banking Justification Mode (User > Settings). Ensure that within Pro Tools > Setup > Preferences > Mixing > "Scroll to Tracks" Banks Controllers is ticked.



Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 09-08-2020, 05:40 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,130
Default 3 Ways: Monitors

[MONITORS] Controlling MTRX or MTRX Studio Cues or Monitors]

(1) Press either of the lower two Setup switches from the dedicated monitor controls on the Master Module to access the Monitoring page. Monitors are displayed vertically displaying A-D. Touch a Monitor letter to select the sources to feed into it.

(2) Press the Control Room switch from the Extras Soft Key page which shows up on the Automation Module in the default Soft Keys view. (Shift + 0 returns to Defaults). Press Mon A to access Sources, Dim and Cut for the first Monitor mix.

(3) Use Shift + Jog for quick access to Monitors A-D on the Soft Keys. Hold Shift from a Fader Module modifier switch while pressing Jog which can be found just to the left of the Jog Wheel. Press Close or use Shift + 0 to return to the default Soft Keys view.


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 09-09-2020, 04:52 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,130
Default Re: 3 Ways: Automation Modes

[AUTOMATION MODES] - Changing all channels

(1) Hold the Option modifier from a Fader Module while pressing a strips F switch to cycle though the automation modes for all channels.

(2) Press the Do to All switch from the Auto 1 Soft Keys, then press an automation mode such as Touch from the same Soft Keys.

(3) Hold an Option modifier while directly pressing an automation mode such as Touch from the Auto 1 Soft Keys.


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 09-10-2020, 06:43 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,130
Default Re: 3 Ways: Memory Locations

[MEMORY LOCATIONS]

(1) Press the dedicated Mem Loc switch on the Automation Module to populate the lower right Soft Keys with pageable Markers / Memory Locates.

(2) Use the QuickJump Shift + Mem Loc (Shift from a Fader Module) to allocate all 4 Soft Key panels for Markers / Memory Locates in a vertical orientation.

(3) Hold Shift while pressing - (minus on numpad section) to access an alternate view which splits the Soft Key panels into two columns: Memory Locations on the Left and Automation functions on the Right.


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 09-11-2020, 08:09 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,130
Default Re: 3 Ways: Automation Enabling

[AUTOMATION ENABLING]

(1) Press the Func switch on a Process (or S4 Channelstrip) Module while the strip is in EQ, DYN or Insert Parameters view.

(2) Hold the Control + Option + Command modifiers while touching an encoder in EQ, DYN or Insert Parameters view.

(3) Alternately, enable the Preference to automatically enable all parameters for plug-ins on instantiation. From the Default Soft Keys view > Press Auto 4 from the Automation 2 (lower left) Soft Keys, then press Auto Prefs. Press the Soft Key labeled Enable Plug Auto to enable arm on instantiation.


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 09-14-2020, 06:56 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,130
Default Re: 3 Ways: Spill Zones

[SPILL ZONES] Opening & Closing

(1) Use the dedicated Master Module L Spill and R Spill switches to designate the Spill Zone to open up for -> Track Types (VCA's), Other Workstation Tracks, Layouts... Use Shift + L Spill or Shift + R Spill to close the appropriate zone.

(2) Use the QuickJump Shift + Enter to access Spill Zone management and banking functions which includes dedicated functions for each spill zone, banked channels as well as separate collapse switches for L & R.

(3) Configure the preference from Settings > User > Automatic Spill of Attentioned VCA - to trigger the automatic opening of a specific Spill Zone when a VCA Master track is attentioned. Pressing Menu on any track (group members) within the spilled zone will collapse the zone.


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 09-15-2020, 05:55 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,130
Default Re: 3 Ways: Home

[HOME] - Bank Faders to the Home position

(1) Hold the Master Module Shift while pressing the Bank Left switch (< <).

(2) Use the dedicated Bank Home Soft Key on the Extras page from the Default view (Automation Module right).

(3) Use the Scroll to Track Soft Key on the Extras page then type-ahead the first track name in the session. Ensure that within Pro Tools > Setup > Preferences > Mixing > "Scroll to Tracks" Banks Controllers is ticked.


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com