Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 05-08-2010, 01:47 PM

Cool What OS should I get??

Ok, this is my first time posting, not sure where to post this, so don't be too harsh.

I really want to start using Pro Tools, and I have been doing lots of research.

Because I am running Vista Premium 64-bit with an AMD processor, my options are limited. Also I do not want to lose my programs or files I already have on Vista.

I tried dual booting with XP professional, but unfortunately, there seem to be issues with AMD processors and XP, one of which, I could not get some necessary drivers. So that's out.

Then I set up Ubuntu Studio, hoping maybe I could somehow use Ardour instead of Pro Tools, but I decided there is too much a learning curve, and there are things I want to do that I can't do in Ardour.

So now I am debating on whether to upgrade to Windows 7 Premium 64-bit, or to purchase a separate computer that runs XP to only use for Pro Tools.

I figure since Windows 7 seems to be well received it will eventually take the place of XP. Also there are drivers for 64-bit Windows 7 available for certain Pro Tools software, which seems to be the only 64-bit that will work with Pro Tools.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

I am looking to just get started in Pro Tools, and to spend around $300 for an interface.
Old 05-14-2010, 03:33 AM

Default Re: What OS should I get??

I wouldn't use Vista if I were you.
And the only one I will use for my main DAW is XP Pro (client PC).

So I would buy a new PC, and get it with W7 x64 and get a copy of XP Pro. Make a dual booth and install PT on both, XP and W7.

Now you can work on XP (most stable for me) and still be ready for the future.