Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Old 06-04-2020, 11:32 PM

Default Catalina issue with large edit sessions?

Hi there- first post here, have looked everywhere to see if anyone else has experienced this issue:

I'm an audiobook editor, and typically my sessions are not complex mix-wise, with typically one or two mono audio tracks, a handful of (mostly native) plugins for dynamic processing, sometimes one or two Waves and Izotope plugins, and my project workflow is typically around 10 hours or so of audio (16 or 24 bit mono wav) in a session, which by the end has thousands of micro-edits where ive placed room tone where its needed etc. This has not been an issue in the 7-8 years or so ive been working like this, going back to PT11 on an 11" Macbook Air. However. Due to a battery malfunction in my 2018 MBP (running Mojave), and an inability to get it fixed anywhere due to lockdown, i was forced to purchase a new machine so i could keep working. My new MBP (16" 2.3 i9) is running Catalina by default. I installed PT 2020.5 and opened a session i was previously working on. It plays fine, but the instant i tried to do *anything* (cut, copy, paste, save) it instantly beach-balls, hanging for 1-2 minutes, while the audio continues to play (but screen frozen etc). I created a blank session, imported unedited audio (several hours worth), no plugins- works fine. Added some third party plugins- works fine. Performed some simple edits (some cuts etc)- works fine. Apply some more complex edits (strip silence, overlay audio to new track on top of a room tone file)- the bad behaviour returns. I uninstalled 2020.5, tried it with 2020.3- same behaviour. I tried it with 2019.6 (as i read that version is compatible with Catalina)- same issue. Ive deduced that