Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > The Drum Room
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 03-12-2013, 07:55 AM

Default MIDI drum file not playing in PT9

Hi. I'm new to Pro Tools, but I have been producing MIDI backing tracks using Sibelius for many years. I have a whole library that I want to convert to Audio(wav?) but mainly to make use of the great instrument sounds available in PT9.

I've successfully imported a MIDI file into Pro-Tools and managed to assign instruments to each track. They all work except for the drum tracks!!

I tend to use 2 staves in Sibelius for drums: one for percussion (cymbals) and one for kick,snare, toms, etc.

I've tried using Xpand2 and BOOM but I'm unable to get any sounds to play. The vu-meter shows activity, so I've obviously not got the path configured correctly or is it that the VI's for drums only respond to single drum lines? I don't want to have to re-write the drume tracks for every single backing track to have a line for each drum/cymbal.

Is there a VI plug-in that will play the file with multiple drums?

Any help would be appreciated. Looked through FAQ's and can't find anything specific to my problem.
Old 03-14-2013, 12:18 PM

Default Re: MIDI drum file not playing in PT9

Problem partially solved!!

I hadn't copied the drum files into the instrument tracks. The bad news is that the drums don't sound the same as they did in General Midi - the same notes don't trigger the same drum items - especially the cymbals. I used Xpand2 pop kit to try it out.
Old 04-01-2013, 11:57 AM

Default Re: MIDI drum file not playing in PT9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gouge47 View Post
Problem partially solved!!