Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-02-2010, 04:57 PM
SunsetLodge SunsetLodge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 106
Default Re: Vintech Pre's

Am I the only one who thinks your an A-hole for talking about preamps in the PT HD forum?

Go to another forum.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-03-2010, 12:16 AM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,727
Default Re: Vintech Pre's

Quote:
Originally Posted by SunsetLodge View Post
Am I the only one who thinks your an A-hole for talking about preamps in the PT HD forum?

Go to another forum.
Yup. You could be the only one.

No, but seriously, I get your point. However, many of us feel a good community here of trustworthy studio owners. So I personally don't mind forum posts like this in the Pro Tools HD forum (much better than gearslutz IMHO). Perhaps it would be more appropriate to put OT: before the subject. But if it bothers you so bad, then why bother even visiting and contibuting negatively to the thread. Let the moderator decide what to do with the off topic posts.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools 12.8.3 HDX Mac OS 10.12.6
Mac Pro Quad 3.2 Nehalem with 32 GB RAM
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-03-2010, 01:00 PM
formfunction formfunction is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,153
Default Re: Vintech Pre's

Quote:
Originally Posted by SunsetLodge View Post
Am I the only one who thinks your an A-hole for talking about preamps in the PT HD forum?
Man, if this gets you riled up I'd hate to run into you on the 405 at rush-hour. your question certainly begs this question....
Am I the only one who thinks you are an A-hole for calling out a fellow HD'r who is simply seeking some equipment advice? ff
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-03-2010, 01:06 PM
Bookerv12 Bookerv12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: No fixed address
Posts: 822
Default Re: Vintech Pre's

Yeah,
473 here too.
Great.
And I'm not an a-hole.
__________________
bookerv12
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-03-2010, 03:01 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,919
Default Re: Vintech Pre's

Maybe the webmaster can move this to the General Discussion section. BTW, the 473 is on my wish list
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-06-2010, 09:11 PM
ajazzie ajazzie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 738
Default Re: Vintech Pre's

Quote:
Originally Posted by SunsetLodge View Post
Am I the only one who thinks your an A-hole for talking about preamps in the PT HD forum?

Go to another forum.
Its a real shame that this forum has over the years, deteriorated. I realize this is the PT HD forum, that was wht I put it here as there is a good chance of detailed and educated replys, for those who did....I thank you all very much. I tried a Vintech the other day, liked it very much and probably will go for 1 or perhaps 2.

I joined here in 2001 and have used Ptools since V4(1996 I believe). We all, back then helped eachother as it was seriously buggy and in development, so......Sunset........perhaps I used the wrong forum, however it is generally the people using the same gear as me who know the benefits and downfalls that I may encounter.

I am not saying that those who use an MBox dont have Avalon compressors, 25k worth of mics and pres like I do, but I would assume owning a pro studio and HD rig would up the chances of someone being able to answer my questions subjectively.

You should try helping and not waste time shooting at someone cause it really doesnt do anything but make you look like the , well you said it.

To all, thanks and do great things, I am sure you all are!!

AJ
__________________
A Gentleman is one who can play the bagpipes, yet chooses not to.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-06-2010, 09:39 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,794
Default Re: Vintech Pre's

Vintech is nice. It very nearly does Neve. You can't lose.

An Avedis MA5, on the other hand, outdoes Neve. I've been using these for a long time now and they're hands down the single greatest preamps I've used. And I wasn't kidding - it outdoes Neve for the classic Neve sound. Very few other things have boosted the quality of my productions as much. Even grandma will ask what you're doing differently.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-06-2010, 10:19 PM
audioluche audioluche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC, Canada
Posts: 719
Default Re: Vintech Pre's

Hi,

I tried the Vintech side by side with an AMS Neve 1073 and a vintage Neve 1073 when i was shopping for a neve.

I tought the vintech was sounding verry good but i prefered the vintage Neve by a good margin. I ended up buying 2 vintage 1084, verry nice units that were in a superb shape.

The only thing i did not like about the vintech was a loss of quality in the high end when engaging the eq switch (with the eq flat). Did some of you vintech users find the same thing? Or maybe i had a bad unit to test....

Anyway, the pre was great but i really felt in love with the vintage one, so i had to spill the beans...

Hope this helps.

Luc

Last edited by audioluche; 10-06-2010 at 10:21 PM. Reason: bad spelling
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mic pre's: MBox 2 VS cheap Behringer pre's VS M-Audio Firewire 410 (Mp3 samples) DanielPinho 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-18-2009 05:14 PM
Lining outboard pre's through the Digirack pre's falsemetal666 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-16-2006 05:53 PM
isa 428 or vintech 273 guitardom General Discussion 0 02-10-2006 10:39 PM
002 Pre's vs Behringer Pre's opinions mfavila 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 07-15-2005 10:41 AM
digi pre's Vs Mackie pre's - anyone? Mike F 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-01-2001 05:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com