Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-28-2016, 09:16 PM
mecklot mecklot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: California
Posts: 1
Default "Could not complete your request because The system cannot find the file specified."

Hello all,

When I opened up one of my projects, Pro Tools told me there was a difference between my local file and the cloud file. I chose to open my local file and worked off of that. When I saved, Pro Tools said it would overwrite the cloud file, which I had no problem with.

When I tried to open up the same project, I got this error message:

Could not complete your request because The system cannot find the file specified. (2) c:\Users\Phil\Documents\Pro Tools\Project Cache\KKBsggSpcb5RwB5gcYk_nb\N_ZYNdGAcr7PcCtsWbCOl a.ptproject\Revision History\Manual Saves\0065.ptpx.

The "0065.ptpx" file does not exist. Opening the latest auto-backup nets me the same message above. I tried logging back in, restarting Pro Tools First, and restarting the computer, but no such luck.
__________________
Computer Model: TOSHIBA TECRA Z40-A
OS: Windows 8.1 (x64)
Processor: Intel i3-4030U CPU @ 1.9 GHz
RAM: 8 GB
Audio Interface: ASIO4ALL v2
Pro Tools First 12.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-29-2016, 01:39 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,445
Default Re: "Could not complete your request because The system cannot find the file specifie

Hello mecklot,

Quote:
c:\Users\Phil\Documents\Pro Tools\Project Cache\KKBsggSpcb5RwB5gcYk_nb\N_ZYNdGAcr7PcCtsWbCOl a.ptproject\Revision History\Manual Saves\0065.ptpx.
Be sure that you have special access to folders where the project is save.

Regards,
RC
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-12-2017, 09:05 PM
gritcheese gritcheese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: canada
Posts: 2
Default Re: "Could not complete your request because The system cannot find the file specifie

Been working on this song for 3 months and since yesterday,
i cannot open it anymore. I get a similar message:

Could not complete your request because The system cannot find the file specified. (2) c:\Users\Bakana\Documents\Pro Tools\Project Cache\2mtp5pIXpXiKeaClAv8tzb\J8jaPusnhb7GJ0uvIWwdL c.ptproject\Revision History\Manual Saves\0159.ptpx.

I saw the previous reply that said:
Be sure that you have special access to folders where the project is save.
Unless i do not understand what that means, i have full access to all my folders. So i am stuck. anyway way to fix this,or restart from scratch?

Pro tools first ---Focusrite scartlett i6
Intel(R) Core (TM)
i5-7200 CPU @ 2.50 GHZ 2.70 GHZ
12 GB RAM
64 bit operating system
windown 10 pro
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-14-2017, 11:16 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,004
Default Re: "Could not complete your request because The system cannot find the file specifie

Quote:
Originally Posted by gritcheese View Post
Been working on this song for 3 months and since yesterday,
i cannot open it anymore. I get a similar message:

Could not complete your request because The system cannot find the file specified. (2) c:\Users\Bakana\Documents\Pro Tools\Project Cache\2mtp5pIXpXiKeaClAv8tzb\J8jaPusnhb7GJ0uvIWwdL c.ptproject\Revision History\Manual Saves\0159.ptpx.

I saw the previous reply that said:
Be sure that you have special access to folders where the project is save.
Unless i do not understand what that means, i have full access to all my folders. So i am stuck. anyway way to fix this,or restart from scratch?
In file explorer, try to navigate to the folder shown in the error message. If you can open the folder and see the ptpx file, then folder permissions are not your problem. If you get an error trying to open the folder, then something has changed on your system and you will have to take ownership of the folder to allow PT to access the project cache.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-14-2017, 11:48 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,581
Default Re: "Could not complete your request because The system cannot find the file specifie

He is on PT First so maybe something has changed in the settings.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-14-2017, 07:10 PM
gritcheese gritcheese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: canada
Posts: 2
Default Re: "Could not complete your request because The system cannot find the file specifie

thanks for reply, junkgear, i can get access to the folder...

and yes southsidemusic i am on protools first, and
yea probably a change in the settings, no clue
maybe a glitch.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-12-2018, 03:18 PM
PValois PValois is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 1
Default Re: "Could not complete your request because The system cannot find the file specifie

I'm receiving the same message on one of my projects that was nearly completed. Extremely frustrating. Projects are lost in the cloud I guess???
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Could not complete your request because Access is denied" ColinSound Pro Tools Software (Win) 2 05-13-2013 02:58 PM
FIXED: Startup issue: "Could not complete request because Assertion line 1424" wheret Pro Tools Software (Win) 2 07-11-2012 05:43 PM
Error message "could not complete your request because..." on PTLE 8.0.3 load up blast9 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-02-2010 02:49 PM
"could not complete your request because end of stream encountered" PT8 promblem nikokarpaasi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-22-2009 12:49 AM
"Cannot complete request... Access violation occured" jonnyb8390 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-07-2009 12:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com