Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-16-2014, 10:23 AM
Katherine_Focusrite's Avatar
Katherine_Focusrite Katherine_Focusrite is offline
Focusrite
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 159
Default Focusrite Scarlett Interfaces - New MixControl and Driver Betas July 2014

Hello Everyone,

I wanted to create a post as we have had a number of emails in from users of Pro Tools looking for the Focusrite USB 2.0 Driver 2.5b4 driver on our beta site and finding it missing.

This driver was a beta and we do update frequently in effort to bring you the best software and experience possible.

We have posted a new Scarlett MixControl 1.9b2 and new Focusrite USB 2.0 Driver 3.1.1. These are softwares we are working on to improve performance overall in all DAWs, especially Pro Tools.

Please try these out. If you find that some time has passed since this posting and there is a newer version skip the older betas and move on to the most recent versions.

Do note that it is always best to check if something has been made a full release if you are checking this thread months later. Do not go directly to the beta page. If you see a Main Release version and a Beta Version the Main release is ALWAYS later. Any new betas will pick up with a newer number.

For example in the case of 2.5b4 this was actually an older driver than the full release 2.5.1.

Please see our Main Page here for Downloads:
http://focusrite.com/downloads?product=all

Please see our Beta Page here for Downloads:
http://beta.focusrite.com/

As of July 2014 please try these:
Scarlett MixControl 1.9b2: http://beta.focusrite.com/releases/scarlett_mixcontrol/
Focusrite USB 2.0 Driver 3.1.1: http://beta.focusrite.com/releases/f..._usb2_drivers/

If you do experience any issues with these drivers please do email us directly. These are betas and we do want your feedback to improve them and offer you the top quality.

Direct Email: http://focusrite.com/answerbase/contact

Best regards!

Kat
__________________
Katherine Kaplan // Focusrite Technical Support

http://www.focusrite.com/answerbase/en/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-17-2014, 05:51 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,021
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlett Interfaces - New MixControl and Driver Betas July 2014

Do these new beta fix the sample rate change issues? Just to be clear, for the Scarlett 8i6, I need to get the USB 2 3.1.1 driver AND the MixControl 1.9b2, correct?
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-17-2014, 11:49 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,021
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlett Interfaces - New MixControl and Driver Betas July 2014

Quote:
Originally Posted by Katherine_Focusrite View Post
Hello Everyone,


Please try these out. If you find that some time has passed since this posting and there is a newer version skip the older betas and move on to the most recent versions.

Do note that it is always best to check if something has been made a full release if you are checking this thread months later. Do not go directly to the beta page. If you see a Main Release version and a Beta Version the Main release is ALWAYS later. Any new betas will pick up with a newer number.

For example in the case of 2.5b4 this was actually an older driver than the full release 2.5.1.

Please see our Main Page here for Downloads:
http://focusrite.com/downloads?product=all

Please see our Beta Page here for Downloads:
http://beta.focusrite.com/

As of July 2014 please try these:
Scarlett MixControl 1.9b2: http://beta.focusrite.com/releases/scarlett_mixcontrol/
Focusrite USB 2.0 Driver 3.1.1: http://beta.focusrite.com/releases/f..._usb2_drivers/

If you do experience any issues with these drivers please do email us directly. These are betas and we do want your feedback to improve them and offer you the top quality.

Direct Email: http://focusrite.com/answerbase/contact

Best regards!

Kat
Kat,

I wanted to let you know that I did download and install both of these today. Everything works just as before. However, I am sad to report that the problem of PT locking up when opening a session with a different sample rate than the one set in MC is still there. I still need to use the workaround I mentioned in the other thread here. This is the ONE issue I wish could be solved! The workaround makes it a lot easier to live with, but ideally, we ought to be able to close one session using one sample rate, and open another with a different rate and NOT have PT become unresponsive. I'll send an email on this as well, as requested.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-17-2014, 12:29 PM
Katherine_Focusrite's Avatar
Katherine_Focusrite Katherine_Focusrite is offline
Focusrite
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 159
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlett Interfaces - New MixControl and Driver Betas July 2014

Hi Donald,

From what you described in the other thread I think the issue is that you are attempting to make Sample Rate Changes in MixControl at all.

MixControl is just a control panel for the unit. Changing Sample Rate there changes the Sample Rate on the hardware only, not in any programs.

Pro Tools is prone to "locking up" or giving messages indicating ASIO Device Properties have changed when it senses changes have been made on the unit.

Rather than changing the sample rate in MixControl, which isn't a good idea, what happens if you just open a session in Pro Tools at a different Sample Rate?

Pro Tools should request the Sample Rate change, then the unit should move to the new Sample Rate, which you will see reflected in MixControl. Pro Tools may then relaunch itself, stating "ASIO Device properties have changed. Pro Tools needs to restart." as is normal behavior for that software when hardware changes are made.

While we do want to prevent any erroneous messages of "Unable to initalize ASIO Device Focusrite Scarlett" that some customers experienced we cannot change the fact that Pro Tools does prefer to restart when hardware changes Sample Rate. If the message that a change has occurred is not erroneous but valid because change did occur then we do not have a software bug.

Best regards.
__________________
Katherine Kaplan // Focusrite Technical Support

http://www.focusrite.com/answerbase/en/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-17-2014, 01:14 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,021
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlett Interfaces - New MixControl and Driver Betas July 2014

Quote:
Originally Posted by Katherine_Focusrite View Post
Hi Donald,

From what you described in the other thread I think the issue is that you are attempting to make Sample Rate Changes in MixControl at all.

MixControl is just a control panel for the unit. Changing Sample Rate there changes the Sample Rate on the hardware only, not in any programs.

Pro Tools is prone to "locking up" or giving messages indicating ASIO Device Properties have changed when it senses changes have been made on the unit.

Rather than changing the sample rate in MixControl, which isn't a good idea, what happens if you just open a session in Pro Tools at a different Sample Rate?

Pro Tools should request the Sample Rate change, then the unit should move to the new Sample Rate, which you will see reflected in MixControl. Pro Tools may then relaunch itself, stating "ASIO Device properties have changed. Pro Tools needs to restart." as is normal behavior for that software when hardware changes are made.

While we do want to prevent any erroneous messages of "Unable to initalize ASIO Device Focusrite Scarlett" that some customers experienced we cannot change the fact that Pro Tools does prefer to restart when hardware changes Sample Rate. If the message that a change has occurred is not erroneous but valid because change did occur then we do not have a software bug.

Best regards.
Kat, I do not make the change in MC. In fact, I hardly ever open MC as I don't really need to. What I'm saying happens does so exactly as you said: just when all I do is close one PT session at, say sample rate 48k, and open another at, say, 44.1k. When doing that...and ONLY that...PT will not play the new session UNTIL I either exit and reboot PT OR use the work around with the ASIO4ALL I mentioned in the other thread. The same is true now with the two new beta drivers. I don't get any pop up messages at all: PT just won't play the session. So, no, I'm not changing a thing in the MC program. However, I do notice that once I've opened the new session at the new sample rate, and I check the MC program, it does, in fact, show the new sample rate there.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-21-2014, 04:45 PM
Katherine_Focusrite's Avatar
Katherine_Focusrite Katherine_Focusrite is offline
Focusrite
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 159
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlett Interfaces - New MixControl and Driver Betas July 2014

Hi Donald,

I wanted you know I have just looked into this more deeply and replicated the problematic behavior you reported.

I have added notes and replication steps on this matter for the Development Team to review.

I expect you will see this reflected in a further Beta, so keep an eye on the Beta Website.

Please let me know if there is anything else we can do to assist you.

Best regards.

Kat
__________________
Katherine Kaplan // Focusrite Technical Support

http://www.focusrite.com/answerbase/en/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-22-2014, 05:17 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,021
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlett Interfaces - New MixControl and Driver Betas July 2014

Quote:
Originally Posted by Katherine_Focusrite View Post
Hi Donald,

I wanted you know I have just looked into this more deeply and replicated the problematic behavior you reported.

I have added notes and replication steps on this matter for the Development Team to review.

I expect you will see this reflected in a further Beta, so keep an eye on the Beta Website.

Please let me know if there is anything else we can do to assist you.

Best regards.

Kat
That is good to know. Thanks, Kat!
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-03-2014, 05:51 AM
Terry Wetzel Terry Wetzel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Douglasville, Georgia
Posts: 1,408
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlett Interfaces - New MixControl and Driver Betas July 2014

Katherine. Hi. Which of the listed driver updates should I download for my 214, USB2 ? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-07-2014, 09:41 AM
Christian.Focusrite's Avatar
Christian.Focusrite Christian.Focusrite is offline
Focusrite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 80
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlett Interfaces - New MixControl and Driver Betas July 2014

Hi Terry,

If you are on windows, here's the latest usb 2 driver.
http://beta.focusrite.com/releases/f..._usb2_drivers/

-On mac the 2i4 runs in class-compliant mode and no driver is required

Best Regards,
Christian
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-08-2014, 11:40 AM
John Will John Will is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Perú
Posts: 15
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlett Interfaces - New MixControl and Driver Betas July 2014

still problems with the driver beta for scarlett MixControl 1.9b3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
eLicenser Control (eLC) updated to Version 6.7.1.8151 – released July 14th, 2014 unkJE Virtual Instruments 0 07-14-2014 06:37 PM
Focusrite LS56, MixControl freezes rofa macOS 8 05-05-2014 02:07 PM
Distortion between Focusrite MixControl and PT9 pearldrum944 Third Party Interfaces 11 03-05-2014 01:57 PM
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 Driver issues in Pro Tools 10 jeremyguy Windows 8 10-02-2013 08:54 AM
Focusrite RTAS MixControl DannyG Pro Tools 9 1 11-23-2010 03:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com