Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Old 01-23-2007, 09:45 PM

Default Digital Noise Problem

Hello All-

I’m hoping someone here can help me with a strange noise problem I’m having with my Pro Tools HD system. I’ve been a PT user for years and have never encountered anything like this. I thought the problem was an isolated one and my workaround worked at first, but the problem seems to be spreading.

Here’s the basic system set-up that I have been using trouble-free since June 2006:

ProTools 7.1 (I was on 7.0, but Digi recommended going to 7.1)
Mac G5 PPC Dual 2.5 GHz
OSX 10.4.6
1.5 GB DDR SDRAM
OWC Mercury Elite Firewire drives (800 MB/sec) with Oxford chip set
(2) 192 I/O with expansion cards for 24 in/24 out
Clock Source: Internal
Only DigiRack and Waves Platinum (5.4.5) plugs
Delay compensation off when tracking
No plug-ins apart from Click inserted while tracking
Balanced power system for entire facility

Here’s the story:

1. Working in a session with live drums chopped and looped into a one measure pattern, copied for an entire 4 minute song, and consolidated into single files for each track. There are eight tracks of drums for the loop, including stereo tracks for Room mics and Over Heads.

2. Added a new stereo audio track to overdub a piano.

3. Headphone cue mix of drums is routed through a PT Send to Analog 7-8 of 192 #1 to Furman HDS6.

4. Control Room mix routed to Analog 1-2 of 192 #1 to Trident console, then monitors.

5. Record enable piano track.

6. When rolling (recording or playback), a digital noise (crackle, similar to extreme cell phone interference or clock issue noise) is heard in the headphone cue mix, specifically on the send for the Kick Drum (out) track.