Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #81  
Old 06-03-2019, 04:36 AM
justinhill justinhill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Horley UK
Posts: 74
Default Re: 2019.8

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Of course, I've been using a hardware Dorrough last few years
Show-off. (just kidding!)

But the point remains, why can't the GUI just function normally during a bounce...
__________________
--
Justin

Mix room: Apple Mac Pro 6,1 late 2013 2.7Ghz 12-Core XeonE5, 64GB RAM, D300 Graphics, OSX Mojave 10.14.4/Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5/Presonus Quantum 4848 Thunderbolt 2/Allen & Heath ZED-436 for fun

Studio: Apple Mac Pro 5,1 mid 2012 2x 3.46Ghz 6-Core Xeon, 64GB RAM, GeForce GTX 970 graphics, OSX Sierra 10.12.6/Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12/HDX1/Avid HD 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x8/Custom Raindirk Symphony 32ch. front end
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 06-04-2019, 12:39 AM
Matt_G Matt_G is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 590
Default Re: 2019.8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emi View Post
- ping delay compensation (although now it's manageable)
how do you mean that it's 'although now it's manageable'? As in putting in manual delay compensation into the IO settings?

I'd really like to be able to not worry about having to change that every time I open a session with a different sample rate. I'm running a Lynx AES-16e card with an Aurora 16VT with PT's Ultimate 2019.5. Has there been any improvement on this of late?
__________________
Mastering Engineer

www.matthewgraymastering.com

Brisbane Australia
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 06-04-2019, 01:11 AM
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 249
Default Re: 2019.8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt_G View Post
how do you mean that it's 'although now it's manageable'? As in putting in manual delay compensation into the IO settings?

I'd really like to be able to not worry about having to change that every time I open a session with a different sample rate. I'm running a Lynx AES-16e card with an Aurora 16VT with PT's Ultimate 2019.5. Has there been any improvement on this of late?
Yes, I have 6 I/O tamplates that I import depending on the sample rate. This way I don’t have to change I/O settings every time I change sample rate. Import settings and good to go. It only takes a few seconds.
__________________
Mac Mini late 2012 i5 | Mac OS Mojave 10.14 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Pro Tools 2019.5 Native
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 06-04-2019, 02:34 AM
Matt_G Matt_G is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 590
Default Re: 2019.8

Great thanks... makes it all a little less painful this way.
__________________
Mastering Engineer

www.matthewgraymastering.com

Brisbane Australia
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 06-04-2019, 08:46 AM
JingleDjango JingleDjango is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Toronto
Posts: 9
Default Re: 2019.8

In light of yesterday's Mac Pro announcement: Linux support.
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 06-09-2019, 08:48 PM
Matt_G Matt_G is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 590
Default Re: 2019.8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emi View Post
Yes, I have 6 I/O templates that I import depending on the sample rate. This way I don’t have to change I/O settings every time I change sample rate. Import settings and good to go. It only takes a few seconds.
I've just been setting up these templates and if I just stick to 44.1 or 48kHz the presets work but if I go to 88.2 or 96k the system delay keeps changing to the point where the saved templates become slightly out. I've made sure the HW buffer size is the same and nothing has changed on the Lynx side but there's something about 2X FS that makes the system delay go funky. I then have to reboot the Mac before the 1x FS templates are working properly again. So this manual HW compensation system is not stable. Really in 2019 Avid should step up their game and provide real-time hardware delay compensation through pinging the interface/converters/hardware in every session so that the end user doesn't have to manually work it out each time. I need something reliable and repeatable. It's crazy that Reaper, StudioOne, Ableton, Cubase, Nuendo etc. all have this for 3rd party interfaces but Avid still hasn't done this. It's really making me think Pro Tools is not so 'Pro' anymore.
__________________
Mastering Engineer

www.matthewgraymastering.com

Brisbane Australia
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 06-09-2019, 11:30 PM
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 249
Default Re: 2019.8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt_G View Post
I've just been setting up these templates and if I just stick to 44.1 or 48kHz the presets work but if I go to 88.2 or 96k the system delay keeps changing to the point where the saved templates become slightly out. I've made sure the HW buffer size is the same and nothing has changed on the Lynx side but there's something about 2X FS that makes the system delay go funky. I then have to reboot the Mac before the 1x FS templates are working properly again.
Maybe it's a system depending issue. It works ok on mine...

Also, the delay changes if you have or not the "ignore errors during playback/recording" box checked.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt_G View Post
So this manual HW compensation system is not stable. Really in 2019 Avid should step up their game and provide real-time hardware delay compensation through pinging the interface/converters/hardware in every session so that the end user doesn't have to manually work it out each time. I need something reliable and repeatable. It's crazy that Reaper, StudioOne, Ableton, Cubase, Nuendo etc. all have this for 3rd party interfaces but Avid still hasn't done this. It's really making me think Pro Tools is not so 'Pro' anymore.
Can't agree more. Hope Avid address this aspect in the near future features.
__________________
Mac Mini late 2012 i5 | Mac OS Mojave 10.14 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Pro Tools 2019.5 Native
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 06-10-2019, 12:03 AM
Matt_G Matt_G is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 590
Default Re: 2019.8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emi View Post
Maybe it's a system depending issue. It works ok on mine...
It's possible but it's all pretty industry standard kit, 2010 Mac Pro 12 core, UAD Octo, Aurora 16 VT, Lynx AES-16e, Sierra 10.12.6, PT's Ultimate 2019.5. I called the national Avid rep and he's logged the issue and will be looking into it for me, so we'll see I guess.

Quote:
Also, the delay changes if you have or not the "ignore errors during playback/recording" box checked.
This feature has been omitted in 2019.5, seems to be on by default now with no option to turn it on or off now. It's not displayed in the I/O settings any longer.
__________________
Mastering Engineer

www.matthewgraymastering.com

Brisbane Australia
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 06-10-2019, 12:28 AM
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 249
Default Re: 2019.8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt_G View Post


This feature has been omitted in 2019.5, seems to be on by default now with no option to turn it on or off now. It's not displayed in the I/O settings any longer.
It's in the playback engine. Mine is still here. PT2019.5 Native
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot 2019-06-10 at 09.25.38.jpg (23.5 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Mac Mini late 2012 i5 | Mac OS Mojave 10.14 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Pro Tools 2019.5 Native
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 06-10-2019, 12:40 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,666
Default Re: 2019.8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt_G View Post
This feature has been omitted in 2019.5, seems to be on by default now with no option to turn it on or off now. It's not displayed in the I/O settings any longer.
In Playback Engine (as it always has been), still there on Ultimate 2019.5 (HDX)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.5, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2019.5 is here!! LightWing Pro Tools 2019 37 05-16-2019 11:40 PM
Pt 2019 paldry Pro Tools 12 7 05-12-2019 04:18 AM
Looks like at least 2019 before new Mac Pro K Roche Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 04-19-2018 06:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com