Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-25-2009, 07:04 PM
fenderrocker fenderrocker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ft. Myers, FL
Posts: 425
Default 32-bit, 4Gig cap. is apparently BS

http://www.geoffchappell.com/viewer....nse/memory.htm

What do you guys think of this? I'm not a programmer so I can't say.

Apparently the code to use it is there, you just don't have the license. It is true, however, that windows 32-bit can only give 3 gigs total to any one application.




By the way, Led Zepellin I-IV were fckin epic. That is all.
__________________
Jim Carroll
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-25-2009, 08:15 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: 32-bit, 4Gig cap. is apparently BS

Quote:
Originally Posted by fenderrocker View Post
http://www.geoffchappell.com/viewer....nse/memory.htm

What do you guys think of this? I'm not a programmer so I can't say.

Apparently the code to use it is there, you just don't have the license. It is true, however, that windows 32-bit can only give 3 gigs total to any one application.




By the way, Led Zepellin I-IV were fckin epic. That is all.
man, this is an f'n excellent find!!! thanks much for postin' the link!!! look like there's ALWAYS work to do it the lab!! gotta see how it translates into XP and W7 since i don't have a copy of Vista on the quad. looks like a good hex-editor will do the trick tho...well along with some handy commands
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-25-2009, 08:33 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: 32-bit, 4Gig cap. is apparently BS

Quote:
Originally Posted by fenderrocker View Post


By the way, Led Zepellin I-IV were fckin epic. That is all.
Link was not working when I clicked-bandwidth exceeded.

Achilles Last Stand may be LZ's Olympus. The solo is EPIC.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-25-2009, 08:54 PM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,756
Default Re: 32-bit, 4Gig cap. is apparently BS

Bandwidth exceeded when I try to open the link... Can't get it



edit: how many times have u seen me w/the sad face???
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-25-2009, 09:01 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,529
Default Re: 32-bit, 4Gig cap. is apparently BS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keybeeetsss View Post
Bandwidth exceeded when I try to open the link... Can't get it...
Google cache or wayback machine.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-25-2009, 09:06 PM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,756
Default Re: 32-bit, 4Gig cap. is apparently BS

__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-25-2009, 09:45 PM
ChadB ChadB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 44
Default Re: 32-bit, 4Gig cap. is apparently BS

Google Cache:

Images not showing up though
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-25-2009, 10:21 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: 32-bit, 4Gig cap. is apparently BS

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
Link was not working when I clicked-bandwidth exceeded.

Achilles Last Stand may be LZ's Olympus. The solo is EPIC.
same thing here.

imo physical graffitti is their best album (or 2) ten years gone imo has to be the bestest, greaterest, most gooder song EVER written. it was the one song i truly wanted to cover in every band i was in but afraid to not do it justice......which was a fair assumption the song is just TOO perfect. then you have kashmir on the same album...... its just to much to handle! oohhh and down by the seaside........ you got me started, thanx.....
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-25-2009, 10:30 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: 32-bit, 4Gig cap. is apparently BS

+1000 on physical graffitti!!! that $.hit was funky!!!
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-25-2009, 11:26 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: 32-bit, 4Gig cap. is apparently BS

Quote:
Originally Posted by mykhal c View Post
+1000 on physical graffitti!!! that $.hit was funky!!!
Trampled Under Foot
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 11 is Here, apparently! jryser macOS 0 04-07-2013 05:33 PM
Anyone Building a PC: Newegg RAM Deal 4gig=$50 fenderrocker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-21-2009 11:52 AM
Protools 8 Download - 4gig What's on it and how to use it Matt Darcy General Discussion 0 12-21-2008 02:13 PM
2Gig RAM vs 4Gig RAM; 2.4 vs 2.6 CPU GTBannah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-18-2008 09:10 AM
the truth is apparently NOT out there... recdiver Digidesign Hardware & Software 3 12-07-2000 12:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com