Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-04-2017, 10:54 AM
EdgarRothermich's Avatar
EdgarRothermich EdgarRothermich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: West Hollywood
Posts: 82
Default Keyboard Shortcut for "Track List", "MIDI Editor Pane", and "Clip List"

Is it really possible that Pro Tools has no built-in Keyboard Shortcut to toggle the three window panes in the Edit Window, "Track List", "MIDI Editor Pane", and "Clip List"? It seems that the only window pane is the Universe View that has an assignment (opt+7)

I guess I have to create my own Keyboard Shortcuts with the Keyboard System Preferences or the BetterTouchTool app.
__________________
Edgar Rothermich
Author of "Pro Tools | First 12 - How it Works"
from the Graphically Enhanced Manuals (GEM) series
http://DingDingMusic.com/
YouTube Channel Music Tech Explained https://YouTube.com/c/MusicTechExplained/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-04-2017, 12:03 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 1,930
Default Re: Keyboard Shortcut for "Track List", "MIDI Editor Pane", and "Clip List"

Command = (Mix & Edit toggle)
Control = (MIDI editor)

You can also set up recall window sets to most anything (Window Configurations)
i.e. all tools, eco tools, 1 monitor, 3 monitors, mater tools
Decimal point < number < Asterisk (Recalls)
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

PT's U2018.7 MacOS 10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(NVIDIA P4000 3-Displays)
(1080p - 2K/4K - 1080p)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
Nucleus V1 (HUI MIDI over IP)
----
Surround-music-design-creation.
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.
Audio Tuning and System Services
----
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-04-2017, 02:18 PM
EdgarRothermich's Avatar
EdgarRothermich EdgarRothermich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: West Hollywood
Posts: 82
Default Re: Keyboard Shortcut for "Track List", "MIDI Editor Pane", and "Clip List"

Quote:
Originally Posted by DetroitT View Post
Command = (Mix & Edit toggle)
Control = (MIDI editor)

You can also set up recall window sets to most anything (Window Configurations)
i.e. all tools, eco tools, 1 monitor, 3 monitors, mater tools
Decimal point < number < Asterisk (Recalls)
Thanks for the answer, but using Window Configuration feature would be a cumbersome workaround.
The Edit Window has four window panes and to provide the functionality to toggle each window pane individually would require too many (insert math here) configurations to have not only each one with and without, but also any other combination. This is just not practical. In addition, to recall a Window Configuration, you have to type a sequence of minimum 3 keys.

Right now I have set up 3 key equivalents with BTT, one to toggle the Track List, one to toggle the MIDI Editor Pane, and one for toggling the Clip List. Same functionality as having opt+7 to toggle just the window pane for the Universe View. I was hoping that there was a hidden Keyboard Shortcut in Pro Tools, but I guess not (yet).
__________________
Edgar Rothermich
Author of "Pro Tools | First 12 - How it Works"
from the Graphically Enhanced Manuals (GEM) series
http://DingDingMusic.com/
YouTube Channel Music Tech Explained https://YouTube.com/c/MusicTechExplained/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issues using "Select unused->Clear" from the clip list in 12.8 DontLetMeDrown Pro Tools 12 4 08-21-2017 07:36 AM
Does "Westmere" qualification apply to "Bloomfield" and "Gulftown" also? bashville Pro Tools 10 5 03-23-2013 03:04 PM
hardware buttons for "preview", "capture" and "punch" evs Post - Surround - Video 1 12-06-2010 12:28 PM
Region List "Bins" / "Folders" Styles Bitchly Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 06-18-2010 01:22 PM
If I "Remove Unused Regions" after "Consolidate", track won't play? el biciclista Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 04-02-2003 10:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com