Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-28-2019, 02:05 PM
shaft shaft is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 18
Default Changing pitch of a song

I have a song that I want to raise the pitch of the bass a half step. I have tried using avid pitch 2 but it sounds terrible. Is there a plugin that you would recommend for changing the pitch of the bass?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-28-2019, 02:40 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,662
Default Re: Changing pitch of a song

Have you tried changing pitch with Elastic Audio?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-28-2019, 04:00 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,308
Default Re: Changing pitch of a song

Elastic audio should do a good job with a bass, make sure to try the different algorithms available and compare which one sounds better, specifically monophonic, polyphonic and x-form which are the ones what can handle pitch.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-28-2019, 07:22 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,669
Default Re: Changing pitch of a song

IRCAM TS
UVI Falcon (not cheap)
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-29-2019, 07:09 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,876
Default Re: Changing pitch of a song

Elastic Pitch is worth a try(but only the Polyphonic algorithm allows for pitch change). Serato Pitch 'n Time is excellent for this(they may have a free demo period so you can process your bass permanently because it works in AudioSuite for this). Zplane's Elastiq is another good one(but start with Elastic Pitch because you already have it). Half and whole-step changes should be fine. The more expensive options tend to maintain better sound quality with larger changes
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-30-2019, 05:16 AM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,308
Default Re: Changing pitch of a song

It's a bass, monophonic should handle it too if it doesn't play chords
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-30-2019, 08:39 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,122
Default Re: Changing pitch of a song

EA monophonic should do the trick for bass instrument, but I still prefer to do all my pitch tweaking on Melodyne. Not the cheapest tool, but the results don't make my ears turn around.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-07-2019, 08:33 PM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,033
Default Re: Changing pitch of a song

Xform or Serato Pitch n Time works ok for me. If its only a half step EA would probably work aswell.

For more extreme stuff none of the pitch plugins I have tried is good enough. I either loose transients or they screw the quality.
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-07-2019, 09:42 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,876
Default Re: Changing pitch of a song

Guess I need to dig deeper on this. I was under the impression that only Polyphonic would allow the pitch change
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Increase Song Tempo without Changing Pitch? dts.music 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 09-27-2008 03:46 PM
changing tempo without changing pitch Sharabelle Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-10-2007 06:19 PM
Changing BPM on a song MikeSoloway 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-16-2006 01:25 PM
changing the key of a song... dkinman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-31-2005 08:58 PM
Changing Pitch Notefarm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 08-02-2004 09:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com