Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-29-2019, 06:45 PM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 607
Default Plugin Window follow DAW Track Selection

Even with all these new options in the general tab of Eucon 19.9, is it still not possible to get an open plugin window, or other window to follow your track selection from a mouse click on the timeline?
I've tried all the possible permutations of the new parameters and I can't get PT to do this.
I thought this was one of the new features we were going to get, but it seems to do everything else except that one thing we've been asking for, for as long as I can remember.
Perhaps I'm doing something wrong?
If someone has this working could they point me in the right direction please.
Thanks.
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1 12 core, OSX 10.14.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, 888 IO, 192 IO, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, MC Mix, PT Control, Eucon 19.9, PT 2019.10
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-29-2019, 11:19 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,090
Default Re: Plugin Window follow DAW Track Selection

Isn’t Eucon/Eucontrol about control surfaces? And your request is about mouse-clicks/DAW selection?

Select from the Control app. Or a Eucon surface. Turn on in Eucontrol "Attention Most Recently Clicked DAW Area: Track Name". If you have insert A open, then clicking on another track (in Pro Tools, not just Eucon because now one follows the other) will open the same insert slot. But you have to be on the Inserts slot under Channel tab. If you are using the auto-select by type mapping, if you go from an EQ to Reverb in the same slot then it won't open because it won't match what the control surface is controlling (by type.) However Inserts encapsulates all of them.

And is that the royal “we”? I don’t want every bloody plugin window opening/closing as I’m editing audio or writing automation. That’d be a nightmare to keep clearing those out of the way. I only want the plugin/pan/send window to open that I’m controlling currently from a Eucon surface. Like it works now.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB

Last edited by BScout; 09-30-2019 at 12:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-30-2019, 06:35 PM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 607
Default Re: Plugin Window follow DAW Track Selection

Ha, 'the royal we' I like it!


Thanks for the instructions, but it still doesn't work on my rig.
Either the open plugin window just stays on the first one that was opened or
if I have 'Close windows on workstation when editing' selected, it closes.


PT Control follows the attentioned track but the plugin window doesn't.


If its working for you I must still have something set wrong.
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1 12 core, OSX 10.14.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, 888 IO, 192 IO, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, MC Mix, PT Control, Eucon 19.9, PT 2019.10
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-30-2019, 07:01 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,090
Default Re: Plugin Window follow DAW Track Selection

I'll try to post a screenshot of settings and a video later tonight (PST time.) Have to mirror the Control app actions up to the screen next to Pro Tools so it all gets captured in real time.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-01-2019, 08:09 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 607
Default Re: Plugin Window follow DAW Track Selection

Thanks, much appreciated.
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1 12 core, OSX 10.14.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, 888 IO, 192 IO, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, MC Mix, PT Control, Eucon 19.9, PT 2019.10
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-07-2019, 09:05 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 607
Default Re: Plugin Window follow DAW Track Selection

Hi there,
Just following up on this.
I've kept trying different options of preferences but still can't get it to work.
If somebody has a plugin reliably following track selection could they give me the magic combination please.
Thanks
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1 12 core, OSX 10.14.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, 888 IO, 192 IO, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, MC Mix, PT Control, Eucon 19.9, PT 2019.10
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-08-2019, 11:33 AM
Ed Douglas's Avatar
Ed Douglas Ed Douglas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Toronto Ont, Canada
Posts: 253
Default Re: Plugin Window follow DAW Track Selection

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheesehead View Post
Hi there,
Just following up on this.
I've kept trying different options of preferences but still can't get it to work.
If somebody has a plugin reliably following track selection could they give me the magic combination please.
Thanks
I feel your pain. I had ALL SORTS of grief with this feature which is essential to how I premix.The trick for me was to Uninstall all applications AND Remove User Preferences with the installer, reboot and install again. Your appsets will remain intact, thankfully.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/ed_dou...posted-public/
__________________
Neotech Concepts
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0235036/
! sonic gymnastics for the illusionary arts !

2019 i9 MacBook Pro (15,3), macOSX 10.14.6, PT Ultimate 2019.10.494, Atmos Production Suite 3.2, MDA Creator1.5, Rx7 Advanced, Ozone 8 Advanced, Kontakt 6.1.1, Soundminer v4.5Pro, Spanner 3.0.5, SoundHack 0.896
EuControl 19.12.0.14, Avid Control 19.12.05, iPad Pro 12.9" gen 1, iPad Pro 12.9" gen 3, Apollo 8 Duo tb2, UAD-2 Satellite Quad tb2, Glyph 2TB tb3 NVMe SSD, x2 Glyph 2TB SSDs, x1 Glyph 4TB SSD, OWC tb3 Dock, OWC Thunderbay 4 28TB

Last edited by Ed Douglas; 10-08-2019 at 11:34 AM. Reason: trying to get link to work properly
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-08-2019, 08:22 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,161
Default Re: Plugin Window follow DAW Track Selection

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheesehead View Post
Hi there,
Just following up on this.
I've kept trying different options of preferences but still can't get it to work.
If somebody has a plugin reliably following track selection could they give me the magic combination please.
Thanks
What do you have Open Windows on Workstation When Knobs assigned from DAW Click set to ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Faderport/HUI track selection/track follow from within Pro Tools DAWgEAR Pro Tools 2018 8 03-14-2019 02:19 AM
Setting to make plugin selection in DAW follow channel selection? polyh3dron Pro Tools | S6 12 01-15-2019 12:46 PM
Pan and plugin windows follow selection GuidoHelbling Post - Surround - Video 13 09-25-2014 02:38 PM
C8 Track selection Follow daslicht ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 4 01-11-2011 07:11 AM
mix window does not follow c24 send selection Serge Perron ICON & C|24 0 10-19-2010 07:37 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com