Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2011, 02:36 AM
MetalGarret MetalGarret is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 39
Default Weird playback/CPU usage issue with PT9

OK. I'm on a win 7 64bit OS with an intel core 2 duo e8400 processor and 6 gb ram, and a 1TB drive the PT9 is installed on. I have a Mackie Onyx 820i mixer using Loud ASIO for playback and recording. I have updated PT 9.0.3 and Win 7 service pack 1. I like to think that my machine is pretty stable enough to run PT9.

And it mostly is! Up until now I've had very little to complain about.

Here's the problem. I'm in this session that has only 15 tracks. 2 of which are AUX tracks. The rest stereo audio. I'll play the entire session through with zero problems. But once I solo a track it will play for about 8 seconds or so then I get this heavily distorted sound AND it sounds like the speed of the playback slows down immensely. Imagine a heavily distorted slowmo effect. But once I unsolo the track, it plays back to normal! WTF

I figured it might be the buffer on my mixer. it is at 128 which seems rather low. I wanted to get it at least to 256 or 512. But when I do that and startup PT, it gives me a message saying "Pro Tools could not initialize the current playback device. Please make sure the device has been configured." Then my mixer automatically sets itself back to 128 buffer.

What am I missing here? This seems odd.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2011, 03:47 AM
jntracks jntracks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 245
Default Re: Weird playback/CPU usage issue with PT9

i'm not familiar with your mixer specifically, and you didn't post a sandra report so we don't know much about your setup yet,

(see at the top of the site: Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!)

but.... from the info you gave. do you have just one hard drive? you should be recording to a separate physical drive from the one your OS is on.

other than that, make sure you've gone through the windows 7 optimization guide. (search the site for that)
__________________
-j

www.jntracks.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2011, 06:35 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,509
Default Re: Weird playback/CPU usage issue with PT9

Agree with above, and remember that trashing prefs is ALWAYS worth a shot for any odd behavior. See the General Troubleshooting thread for details on that.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-20-2011, 12:19 PM
MetalGarret MetalGarret is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 39
Default Re: Weird playback/CPU usage issue with PT9

im generating a report right now. HOLY HELL it's takin forever! ugh. i'll post it once it's done.

yes i record on a different hard drive. My OS has it's own drive.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-20-2011, 01:12 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,361
Default Re: Weird playback/CPU usage issue with PT9

Is Pro Tools installed on the OS drive?

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-20-2011, 01:30 PM
MetalGarret MetalGarret is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 39
Default Re: Weird playback/CPU usage issue with PT9

No it is not. and neither are the plugins. I have plenty of space free on both drives.

By the way, this sandra report thing crashed my computer twice. I'm currently reading the instructions to try and run it properly, but man wtf!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-20-2011, 01:33 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,361
Default Re: Weird playback/CPU usage issue with PT9

Your OS and all your programs and plug-ins, including Pro Tools, should be on your C: drive - the default location. The sessions you record should be on a physically separate hard drive.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-20-2011, 03:14 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,509
Default Re: Weird playback/CPU usage issue with PT9

What he said^^^^^
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-20-2011, 03:59 PM
MetalGarret MetalGarret is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 39
Default Re: Weird playback/CPU usage issue with PT9

ok. but do you really think that could cause the problems i've been having?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-20-2011, 09:55 PM
MetalGarret MetalGarret is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 39
Default Re: Weird playback/CPU usage issue with PT9

ok im having trouble running this SANDRA program. It'll start doing the report, then it takes FOREVER to get moving. Then it shuts off without a trace and I can't find the report it supposedly made. May take a bit longer to get it out.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird pro tools issue...or user issue stereojunk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 09-30-2010 07:03 PM
Weird quicktime playback issue with 002r crazyfoo' 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-09-2006 01:09 PM
weird CPU usage problem Mats Bengtsson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 12-01-2005 06:04 AM
Weird DSP Usage roberts Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 07-29-2005 03:19 PM
Weird Playback record issue Caution767 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-12-2003 01:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com