Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-01-2012, 03:36 PM
joedexter23 joedexter23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 23
Default Melodyne out of sync on PT 8

Hey guys, would appriciate some help with this. I run PT 8 on a mac os x i7. I use the program melodyne editor for years and just upgraded to melodyne 2 a few months ago and have never had this issue until yesterday.

I recorded my vocals, used melodyne on them for pitch correction as usual but when i played back the song from the very beginning all the vocals that have melodyne on them are wayyyyy out of sync and on top of that are very choppy. So for example the vocals for the first verse wont come in till a random part of what should be the chorus and it will only play a few words and then drop out. If I disable melodyne then itll playback just fine but obviously I want my plugins to work.

NOW heres where it gets weird... I have melodyne on multiple vocal tracks. One of my vocal tracks (also with melodyne on it) works totally fine but the other 2 are whats causing me grief.

Further more, if I dont play back from the beginning of the track but do start playback say from somewhere in the middle of the intro suddenly the vocals will be perfect! This makes bouncing impossible.. Please help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-01-2012, 09:18 PM
Andrew. D Andrew. D is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 142
Default Re: Melodyne out of sync on PT 8

Do you have tempo and or Time Signature changes in the session?
And if you do, were they made after you had done some Melodyne work?
In my expirience these can cause problems.
My solution was to lock the tempo in Melodyne to the tempo of the session at the time it was due to playback.
__________________
Mac Pro, Mid 2010 dual 3.33 Ghz, 48 Gig RAM
Mac OS 10.14.5
ProTools Ultimate 2019.5
HD Native PCIe
Apogee Symphony I/O
Avid I/O
192 I/O
Waves DLI
Apogee Mini Me
Mbox Micro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-02-2012, 07:14 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: Melodyne out of sync on PT 8

When this used to happen to me with Melodyne Studio, I would start over from scratch(yes, lots of wasted time, so thankfully it didn't happen very often). In any case, I got into a habit(with the older version) of busing the tuned vocal to a new audio track and recording it. Then, you can remove the plugin and use the original audio as a reference for spotting the tuned audio to the proper place on the timeline.

I find it advantageous to record the audio anyway as, once you have it loaded into Melodyne, you can't edit the audio on that track in any way(Audiosuite, EA or volume).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Melodyne track going out of sync. Dave Modisette AAX Plug-ins 6 03-09-2014 06:27 AM
Melodyne Users - Melodyne Editor Beta release imminent! Driven01 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 09-18-2009 06:31 AM
Melodyne Users - Melodyne Editor Beta release imminent! Driven01 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 09-18-2009 12:15 AM
Melodyne won't sync! Gothboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 05-20-2009 03:45 PM
Can't sync audiofile with Melodyne DavidHeylen Virtual Instruments 1 04-08-2009 11:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com