Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-16-2020, 01:41 PM
barden barden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 59
Default Dock/S1 VCA Spill Weirdness - or is it just me?

Let's see if I can make sense of this and perhaps someone can confirm this behaviour and / or tell me if I'm just missing something:

(PT2019.10/MacOS 10.14.6/EuCon 20.1/Latest Control Apps/Dock and 1 S1, both with current firmwares; no WiFi on host Mac)

- in EuControl, Assign VCA Master to Dock is selected

- in EuControl, Auto Spill VCA from Control App Attention is selected

- in EuControl, VCA Spill Overrides Layout is selected (BUT there are currently no layouts)

- PT Session contains a single VCA, groups members are 12 - 16 tracks of various flavours

- On the S1 surface, double-clicking the Sel button causes the expected result: the VCA members spill on the S1 and the Dock fader becomes the VCA master and I can touch / move the VCA master with the channels on the S1 staying on the surface, moving according to the VCA master movement

- on the Control App, in Tracks view, touching the VCA track "square" causes the expected result: the VCA members spill on the S1 and Dock fader becomes the VCA master

- BUT as soon as I touch the VCA master on the Dock, the spilled faders on the S1 "disappear" (i.e. I go back to seeing the channels that were there before causing the spill by touching the track "square" in Tracks view on the App)

- similarly, if the VCA master is the attentioned fader on the Dock and I double-click on the Sel button there, the VCA members spill on the S1 BUT as soon as I touch the VCA master on the Dock, the spilled faders "disappear" and I see the channels that were there, "pre-spill"

So, am I missing something? Do I have a EuControl attention setting set incorrectly? I should be able to grab the VCA master on the Dock and still see the members of the VCA on the S1 so that I can level channels independently of the VCA movement, no?

Thanks for reading.

Barden

P.S. The speed at which I have to double-click on the VCA Master Sel button on the S1 still seems to be very unpredictable...even when slowing my double-clicks down considerably, as mentioned in other posts here.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-16-2020, 06:17 PM
Lynn Gräber Lynn Gräber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Nashville, TN.
Posts: 99
Default Re: Dock/S1 VCA Spill Weirdness - or is it just me?

I don't have the behavior you describe over here, but I am on PT 2019.12.

I do agree about the seemingly random double click speed for VCA's on the S1. Hoping this gets ironed out in the update coming soon.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-17-2020, 07:35 AM
docric docric is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 431
Default Re: Dock/S1 VCA Spill Weirdness - or is it just me?

Quote:
Originally Posted by barden View Post
- similarly, if the VCA master is the attentioned fader on the Dock and I double-click on the Sel button there, the VCA members spill on the S1 BUT as soon as I touch the VCA master on the Dock, the spilled faders "disappear" and I see the channels that were there, "pre-spill"

So, am I missing something? Do I have a EuControl attention setting set incorrectly?
... Under Eucon>General is the "Select by Touch" box checked? If so, I wonder if this might be the issue?
__________________
-C' ya'
Rick

MacPro 6,1; 12 core; 64 Gb RAM; 1 TB Samsung 970 Pro w/ adapter & heatsink; OSX 10.14.6
PT 2019.12.0 Ult.
Burl MS / PT Dock/ Avid S1/2x iPad Air2/ Avid|Control
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-17-2020, 08:13 AM
barden barden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 59
Default Re: Dock/S1 VCA Spill Weirdness - or is it just me?

Rick...

Big thanks...it seems that that is exactly what it was. I had focused on the Preferences page.

Lynn...

Thanks for checking it out!

Enjoy the holiday Monday!

Barden
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Have option to spill plugin parameters on top encoders or Dock Sean Bombz Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 3 05-17-2019 08:44 AM
Cannot spill all layouts to R Spill zone Schottlandru Avid S6 5 10-29-2017 04:21 AM
Tip: VCA spill single master mode without dock (hidden feature?) yoerik Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 0 01-17-2017 01:54 PM
Suggestion: Users of S3&Dock together: dock fader becomes 5th VCA master fader bassmagnetic Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 0 10-01-2016 08:20 AM
S3L VCA Spill Soundrambo VENUE Live Sound Systems 8 11-04-2013 07:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com