Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #81  
Old 02-06-2020, 07:58 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,028
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

This just popped up in my e-mail


https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/pro...eid=3af5b4ba3b

here is the video
https://youtu.be/I2RMSksm9WE
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB, Radeon Pulse RX 580 8GB GDDR5 Dual HDMI Graphics Card..... OS- Mojave 10.14.6, and PTHDN 2019.12 on on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2nd Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB -- both in dual drive Crest I/O PCIE controller adaptor card


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 02-06-2020, 01:02 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 826
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by K Roche View Post
I haven’t watched the video but it seems odd HDX can only handle 1/34th the Boom count as Native? What am I missing?

Edit: voices.

Last edited by LukeHoward; 02-06-2020 at 01:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 02-06-2020, 05:53 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,510
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

smh ...
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 02-06-2020, 08:01 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 883
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

I'm sure avid will give us the expanded voices on hdx with the 7.1.

I have not setup my new 7.1 yet for work. Its just doing web browser for now.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 02-06-2020, 08:57 PM
Studio Dweller Studio Dweller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 666
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

This is how mine is configured and working using only the Avid supplied power cable labled "9180-60004-00 REV .A". Mac Pro I/O card in slot 8, OWC SSD in slot 6, HDX card in slot 5, Radeon Pro Vega II in slot 1.
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2020-02-06 at 11.48.51 PM.png (36.8 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Larry
Cellar Dweller Productions
PT 2019.12 HDX, HD IO 16x16 analog, 192 I/O, Control|24
Mac Pro 2019 16-core, 96GB RAM, OS 10.15.2
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 02-09-2020, 07:52 AM
corp corp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 632
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

AAX DSP is a complete boondoggle
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 02-16-2020, 01:58 PM
corp corp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 632
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

New MP's and Avid has no update on HDX just another silly chassis and interface without I/O specification.
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 02-22-2020, 07:41 PM
fsavell fsavell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 93
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

What's everyone doing for storage? Are you just hanging portable USB / TB3 drives off the unit, or installing PICE SSDs? Anyone found a use for the SATA connections inside?

Forrester
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6, HDX2 • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.46 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.14.5 • RAM 48GB, GPU Radeon RX480
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 02-22-2020, 08:27 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 826
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fsavell View Post
What's everyone doing for storage? Are you just hanging portable USB / TB3 drives off the unit, or installing PICE SSDs? Anyone found a use for the SATA connections inside?
Funnily enough, have just been researching that this afternoon. I'm still waiting on the W5700X GPU to be available before ordering but, I'm tossing up between the following:
  • 4TB internal SSD, no PCIe storage – simplest option, doesn't cost a PCIe slot, but slower and also can only be replaced by Apple
  • 1TB internal SSD, OWC Accelsior 4M2 PCIe storage (4x1TB) – this works out approximately the same price as above, and does not have a fan
  • 1TB internal SSD, Sonnet M2 4x4 PCIe storage (2x2TB) – this is more expensive, but expandable [1] and potentially faster depending on how it is populated [2]

[1] can't seem to buy the OWC card unpopulated here and the 4TB option uses 4x1TB SSDs
[2] the OWC card is a x8 PCIe card, the Sonnet card is x16, but this is moot given way I intend to populate it

Last edited by LukeHoward; 02-22-2020 at 10:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 02-23-2020, 01:33 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 18,256
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

If I was buying a new Mac now, I would invest in as big an internal SSD as I could afford. So darn much hassle upgrading it later.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com