Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2020, 10:11 AM
Lazza Lazza is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Andorra
Posts: 3
Default new mac tower

Hope this does not sound to stupid.
I have ProTools 7 and HD hardware with an old mac tower limited to OS9
Will I be able to place my HD cards in the new tower? Obviously I will have to update the software.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2020, 10:16 AM
peterle peterle is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Berlin , Germany
Posts: 463
Default Re: new mac tower

no
__________________
foley artist , soundeditor
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-13-2020, 10:40 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 18,315
Default Re: new mac tower

Hi, welcome to the community.

If by "new" you mean these late 2019 Mac Pro cheesegraters, then no. OS9 era computers did not have PCI-express slots available, therefore your cards must be PCI. You can find 2nd hand G5 PowerMacs released early 2005 that are capable of running OSX 10.5.8 "Leopard" but that won't get you past PT8.

If you want to keep the old cards, your only option is to find an external chassis for them that can connect to a modern PCI-express computer.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-16-2020, 10:51 AM
Lazza Lazza is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Andorra
Posts: 3
Default Re: new mac tower

Thanks Janne for the info.

I will have to check but for some reason I think I have express cards. Won't be able to check till I get back to my studio in March. I seem to remember I have three cards in my kit two long and a short one. Will the cards have express written on them anywhere?
Sorry to be such a tech bozo
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-16-2020, 10:53 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 18,315
Default Re: new mac tower

You just remember it wrong. First ever Mac to have PCI-express was this late 2005 G5 model and that did not run OS9
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-17-2020, 12:05 AM
Lazza Lazza is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Andorra
Posts: 3
Default Re: new mac tower

That is the Mac I have.
All metal casing, opens with the removal of a side panel giving full access.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-17-2020, 05:27 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 18,315
Default Re: new mac tower

So you are not limited to OS9, instead your system is limited to PPC software.

If you have PCI-express cards (the ones that have inch-wide connector to computer) then you can buy almost any Mac Pro out there and be happy.

The old HD cards however require PT 10.3.10 or earlier which means you need to run OSX 10.8.5 or earlier. That means the 2019 model is out of the question.

Compatibility info here.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacBook Pro or Mac Pro (Tower)? fossiltooth macOS 5 04-17-2012 08:10 AM
What Windows i7 tower should I buy? Jimibrix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 09-04-2010 03:59 PM
Powerbook or G4 Tower...hmm happy-shlappy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-26-2005 01:50 PM
best G4 tower for 002 ? dente123 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-19-2003 10:05 AM
G4 Titanium and G4 Tower livstone Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 06-13-2003 06:57 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com