Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-17-2008, 09:31 PM
Mental Clarity Mental Clarity is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 19
Default Good System Usage/RTAS settings for Quad Core system

Would anyone have recommendations on ideal “CPU Usage Limit” & “RTAS Processing” settings for a quad core system running Pro Tools LE version 7.4 with the digi002? I realize that each situation will have different recording & creative requirements, so I’m asking about general guidelines here.

For the record, I’ll be using EWQLSO as my main sample library, with up to 48 audio tracks (via DV Toolkit) running more or less simultaneously.

Don’t plan on running any other major software on this system (apart from Finale). The idea is to get as much out of the system as possible…any ideas will be greatly appreciated.


More system specs:
  • Intel Quad Core Q9550 2.83 GHz
  • 12MB Cache 1333 FSB
  • Intel G45 chipset
  • 4GB Corsair DDR-2 1066MHz RAM
  • Seagate 500GB 7200RPM 32MB SATA II system drive (internal)
  • Seagate 1000GB 7200RPM 32MB SATA II audio drive (internal)
  • Seagate 1000GB 7200RPM 32MB SATA II sampling drive (internal)
  • 500 Watt 12 db (A) ultra-quiet power supply
  • 2 Texas Instruments Firewire ports
  • 10 USB 2.0 ports
  • 1 eSATA port
  • 6 SATA II ports with RAID support
  • 2 open PCI slots
  • 2 open PCI Express slots
  • 1 Gigabit LAN port
  • Intel high definition 7.1 CH integrated audio
  • Copper heat-pipe 12 db (A) CPU cooler
...thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-17-2008, 09:40 PM
Mental Clarity Mental Clarity is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Good System Usage/RTAS settings for Quad Core system

Forgot to mention the OS: 32 Bit Microsoft Windows XP Professional SVP3

Last edited by Mental Clarity; 12-17-2008 at 09:41 PM. Reason: Needed more clarity
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-17-2008, 10:45 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Good System Usage/RTAS settings for Quad Core system

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mental Clarity View Post
Forgot to mention the OS: 32 Bit Microsoft Windows XP Professional SVP3
Probably 4 Processers at 90 or 95%.

Make sure you have all the latest plugin updates. Significant amounts of RTAS spiking can often often caused by older plugs that need updating. Sometimes when you have a plugin that is less than 100% RTAS compliant (Native Instruments were famous for this I beleive) reducing the RTAS procesing by one processer can help the computer deal with the non complaint code. The Mac Pro users do this some times.

What Board is that?
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-18-2008, 06:26 AM
Mental Clarity Mental Clarity is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Good System Usage/RTAS settings for Quad Core system

Thanks for your insights, Sunburst79 – much appreciated. I contacted the manufacturer about the motherboard, and will post the info when I get a reply. FYI, I don’t own the system yet, but plan to upgrade from an older, single core system.

BTW, that RTAS spiking you speak of…would/could it manifest itself in a sharp, burst of hissing emanating from the speakers at random times? I have this issue with my current set up, hence the need to upgrade...(process of elimination leads to computer issue).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-18-2008, 09:34 AM
Mental Clarity Mental Clarity is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Good System Usage/RTAS settings for Quad Core system

Here are the system board specs:

GIGABYTE GA-EG45M-DS2H Intel g45 chipset micro ATX form factor 1xPCI-E(x16)/1xPCI-E(x1)/2xpci/4xddr2 w/integrated vga,sata2,lan(gb), usb 2.0 & audio (cpu type:intel - socket 775)

More details:
Supported CPU
CPU Socket Type LGA 775
CPU Type Quad-core / Core 2 Extreme / Core 2 Duo / Pentium
FSB 1600 (O.C)/1333MHz
Chipsets
North Bridge Intel G45
South Bridge Intel ICH10R
Number of Memory Slots 4×240pin
Memory Standard DDR2 1066 (O.C)/800
Maximum Memory Supported 16GB
Channel Supported Dual Channel
Expansion Slots
PCI Express x4 1
PCI Express x1 1
PCI Slots 2
Storage Devices
PATA 1 x ATA100 2 Dev. Max
SATA 3Gb/s 5
SATA RAID 0/1/5/10
Onboard Video
Onboard Video Chipset Intel GMA X4500HD
Onboard Audio
Audio Chipset Realtek ALC889A
Audio Channels 8 Channels
Onboard LAN
LAN Chipset Realtek 8111C
Max LAN Speed 10/100/1000Mbps
Rear Panel Ports
PS/2 1
Video Ports D-Sub + DVI
HDMI 1 x HDMI
USB 6 x USB 2.0
IEEE 1394 1 x IEEE 1394a
eSATA 1 x eSATA 3Gb/s
S/PDIF Out 1x Optical
Audio Ports 6 Ports
Onboard USB
Onboard USB 3 x USB 2.0/1.1 headers
Physical Spec
Form Factor Micro ATX
Dimensions 9.6" x 9.6"
Power Pin 24 Pin
Package Contents GA-EG45M-DS2H

Last edited by Mental Clarity; 12-18-2008 at 10:27 AM. Reason: Trimmed the amount of info.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-18-2008, 12:42 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Good System Usage/RTAS settings for Quad Core system

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mental Clarity View Post
Thanks for your insights, Sunburst79 – much appreciated. I contacted the manufacturer about the motherboard, and will post the info when I get a reply. FYI, I don’t own the system yet, but plan to upgrade from an older, single core system.

BTW, that RTAS spiking you speak of…would/could it manifest itself in a sharp, burst of hissing emanating from the speakers at random times? I have this issue with my current set up, hence the need to upgrade...(process of elimination leads to computer issue).
No. Erratic RTAS spikes will stall Pro Tool's and throw up "Not enough CPU" type errors. Pro Tools will grind to a halt on a system with seemingly plenty of headroom.

While not a white noise issue improper clocking will cause random clicks and pops. So will having the "Ignore Errors During Record/Playback" checked in the RTAS engine dialog in the Playback Engine Dialog. Some places to check first while hunting for noises.

As I recall some white noise issues have been traced to odd ball grounding issues and bad plugins. Not a area I have payed a lot of attention too since its not been a problem for me.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-18-2008, 03:50 PM
Mental Clarity Mental Clarity is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Good System Usage/RTAS settings for Quad Core system

Thanks again for your reply. It’s curious - checked all of the above and the system (on the surface) checks out OK. Think it could be a latency issue?

The problem of jolting speaker hiss appears to occur only when playing back large files (roughly 30 + audio tracks – audio files only, no midi) with many articulations per track. Otherwise smaller files sound clean as a whistle.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-19-2008, 03:09 PM
Mental Clarity Mental Clarity is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Good System Usage/RTAS settings for Quad Core system

To any and all that may be interested: appears that the "audio hiss" mentioned above was indeed related to latency issues.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core 2 Quad System Help Fireball71 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 10-13-2011 01:26 PM
Mouse glitches out at 40% system usage, lots of rtas plugs. aasteveo Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 16 11-12-2010 01:57 AM
only one RTAS processor shows up on quad core system peret Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 9 05-13-2010 12:20 PM
HD2 Core System usage Question closed Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 01-19-2010 06:33 AM
Quad-core setup for MIX system working.. better than single Chris Watkins Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 13 03-14-2008 08:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com