Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2020, 02:40 AM
TheResistance TheResistance is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Uk
Posts: 7
Default Pro Tools 2020HDX

I currently have a macpro 2012 running 2 system drives.

10.7 & 10.7.3 Both with pro tools 10.1 HDX



I upgraded the 2nd drive to 10.13.6 and installed Pro-Tools Ultimate 2020 which is on a 2nd ilok. ( I can take out the first iLok)



All is fine except the HDX audio Engine doesn't show up in the Audio Engine prefs in Pro Tools 2020.

It does however see and communicate with the card if I choose to adjust prefs in the audio midi setup. I can identify the interfaces no probs.


Does anyone have an idea why?


I have installed recent drivers. Reinstalled Pro Tools several times. Trashed preferences. Installed newsest Ilok manager.

Does it just require a firmware update on the HDX card?!

I am hesistant to do this as I dont want to brick it or have it incompatable with ProTools 10.1 which I will still use.


Thanks for any help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-01-2020, 04:47 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,361
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020HDX

Hi and Welcome

You need the Digilink license on the same ilok as the Ultimate license for the HDX to work. Check your iLok account and ilok key for a Digilink license. Are you on a active support plan now? You should have got a Digilink license with your interface. This started with PTHD 12.6 and onwards.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-01-2020, 05:21 AM
TheResistance TheResistance is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Uk
Posts: 7
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020HDX

Yes sorry forgot to mention I have that.


I had it on demo on the same iLok.

That didnt work so purchsed a full one. That still doesnt get it working!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-01-2020, 06:37 AM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,221
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020HDX

If you've installed the HD driver with PT 2020 you should be good, but yes, maybe a firmware update. . Check in Avid Digitest in your Utils folder.
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.12.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V19.12 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.6 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG

~ Mac Pro (Early 2009) - 2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core-32 GB RAM-10.13.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 / Apollo 16 / Avid S3 ~
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-01-2020, 07:44 AM
TheResistance TheResistance is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Uk
Posts: 7
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020HDX

Ok thanks.


Do you have any idea what the firmware version it should be on for 2020?
I presume I can update it in the digitest utility?



I tried getting a version of Pro Tools 12 to load and it said I could update it (the firmware on the HDX card) -but I hesitated because I understand the last version of 10 is 10.3 that works with the update. I need to have both version PT 10 and 2020 working on the same machine. Although hopefully I can just start to move everything into 2020.


Cheers for any help!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-01-2020, 08:08 AM
TheResistance TheResistance is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Uk
Posts: 7
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020HDX

I also tried re-seating the card into slot 4 in the mac.


I cant think of anything else!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-01-2020, 08:47 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,361
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020HDX

Did you remove the demo license from your ilok key for the digilink!?
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-01-2020, 12:19 PM
TheResistance TheResistance is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Uk
Posts: 7
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020HDX

No I havnt. Should I just deactivate it?


Thought it was weird it was not working with demo license activated though.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-01-2020, 01:23 PM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,221
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020HDX

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheResistance View Post
Ok thanks.


Do you have any idea what the firmware version it should be on for 2020?
I presume I can update it in the digitest utility?



I tried getting a version of Pro Tools 12 to load and it said I could update it (the firmware on the HDX card) -but I hesitated because I understand the last version of 10 is 10.3 that works with the update. I need to have both version PT 10 and 2020 working on the same machine. Although hopefully I can just start to move everything into 2020.


Cheers for any help!

Yes.
This is the reason for your HDX problem.
Firmware update in Digitest. It will do it for you.
I did a firmware update, coming up from 12 I think it was.
Needed to step back. It’s a palaver but doable.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.12.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V19.12 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.6 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG

~ Mac Pro (Early 2009) - 2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core-32 GB RAM-10.13.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 / Apollo 16 / Avid S3 ~
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-01-2020, 02:09 PM
TheResistance TheResistance is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Uk
Posts: 7
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020HDX

Ok great, thanks for your help!


If poss any explanation on how to do it in the digitest app would be great, but Im sure I can figure it..


Would you mind telling me what firmware version your card is at?




Thankyou!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Pro Tools HD 8 + Pro Tools HD 9 + Pro Tools 9 Bundle iLOK license Delta Music Belgium Buy & Sell 1 02-27-2019 04:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com