Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-15-2013, 04:11 PM
Sam C's Avatar
Sam C Sam C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 528
Default How can I keep my mixer view in view?

I have a single monitor and I often have my mixer view using about 90% of the screen. The remainde of the screen has the edit menu and one audio track in view. If I click stop, rewind, and a few other functions it immediately closes the mixer view leaving the edit view for the entire screen. Very frustrating to me.

Is there a way to stop my mixer view from closing when I hit play, rewind, etc.?

Thanks.
__________________
Sam
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-15-2013, 04:20 PM
SpinningDisk's Avatar
SpinningDisk SpinningDisk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,474
Default Re: How can I keep my mixer view in view?

I think if you go to windows or view, it gives you options like one on too of the other, side by side etc. Either shrink your windows or get a second monitor.
Disk


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk.
__________________
PT 11, PT LE 6.0, DIGI 001, DIGI 003, 27" Late 2012 Intel iMac, Blue and White G3, Reason 7, Celemony, Waves, A.I.R., Softube, XLN Audio, IKmultimedia, Massey
Alesis Masterlink, Alesis Adat LX20,
, Yamaha Motif ES8, Sure SM58, Sure KSM27, Byerdynamic MC 834 N, Event Project Studio 6, Pod Line 6, Focusrite Trakmaster Pro DI, Glyph Drives, Lexicon,
Fender Strats, Ibanez Acoustic, Ibanez Bass, Ibanez Electric.

http://www.johnackermusic.com/
protools@verizon.net

Live and Let Live
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-15-2013, 04:29 PM
Sam C's Avatar
Sam C Sam C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 528
Default Re: How can I keep my mixer view in view?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpinningDisk View Post
I think if you go to windows or view, it gives you options like one on too of the other, side by side etc. Either shrink your windows or get a second monitor.
Disk


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk.
Get a second monitor....there's always a comedian when you need one.
__________________
Sam
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-15-2013, 04:32 PM
SpinningDisk's Avatar
SpinningDisk SpinningDisk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,474
Default Re: How can I keep my mixer view in view?

Your mixer window shouldn't disappear when you hit those keys.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk.
__________________
PT 11, PT LE 6.0, DIGI 001, DIGI 003, 27" Late 2012 Intel iMac, Blue and White G3, Reason 7, Celemony, Waves, A.I.R., Softube, XLN Audio, IKmultimedia, Massey
Alesis Masterlink, Alesis Adat LX20,
, Yamaha Motif ES8, Sure SM58, Sure KSM27, Byerdynamic MC 834 N, Event Project Studio 6, Pod Line 6, Focusrite Trakmaster Pro DI, Glyph Drives, Lexicon,
Fender Strats, Ibanez Acoustic, Ibanez Bass, Ibanez Electric.

http://www.johnackermusic.com/
protools@verizon.net

Live and Let Live
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-15-2013, 04:51 PM
Sam C's Avatar
Sam C Sam C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 528
Default Re: How can I keep my mixer view in view?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpinningDisk View Post
Your mixer window shouldn't disappear when you hit those keys.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk.
Thanks, but I'm hoping for a solution.
__________________
Sam
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-15-2013, 05:58 PM
ThunderKyss ThunderKyss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 161
Default Re: How can I keep my mixer view in view?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam C View Post
Thanks, but I'm hoping for a solution.
I think what he is saying, is to learn the key commands for stop, rewind, & whatever other function you are looking for.

You'll end up working a lot faster if you used the spacebar for play/stop, than having to grab the mouse, move the pointer, click, then you probably use a slew of clicks to get back to your mixer view.

Using the key commands, your mixer will stay on top.


Like you want.
__________________
Power PC G5 2GB DDR2 150GB
OSX 10.5.8
Pro Tools 8.0.1 LE Ignition Pack 2
MBox 2 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-15-2013, 06:08 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: How can I keep my mixer view in view?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunderKyss View Post
Using the key commands, your mixer will stay on top.


Like you want.
and you will look like a god to people that don't know keyboard shortcuts
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-15-2013, 06:10 PM
SpinningDisk's Avatar
SpinningDisk SpinningDisk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,474
Default Re: How can I keep my mixer view in view?

😙


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk.
__________________
PT 11, PT LE 6.0, DIGI 001, DIGI 003, 27" Late 2012 Intel iMac, Blue and White G3, Reason 7, Celemony, Waves, A.I.R., Softube, XLN Audio, IKmultimedia, Massey
Alesis Masterlink, Alesis Adat LX20,
, Yamaha Motif ES8, Sure SM58, Sure KSM27, Byerdynamic MC 834 N, Event Project Studio 6, Pod Line 6, Focusrite Trakmaster Pro DI, Glyph Drives, Lexicon,
Fender Strats, Ibanez Acoustic, Ibanez Bass, Ibanez Electric.

http://www.johnackermusic.com/
protools@verizon.net

Live and Let Live
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-15-2013, 08:54 PM
Sam C's Avatar
Sam C Sam C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 528
Default Re: How can I keep my mixer view in view?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunderKyss View Post
I think what he is saying, is to learn the key commands for stop, rewind, & whatever other function you are looking for.

You'll end up working a lot faster if you used the spacebar for play/stop, than having to grab the mouse, move the pointer, click, then you probably use a slew of clicks to get back to your mixer view.

Using the key commands, your mixer will stay on top.


Like you want.
That would be fine if was just stop and start. I cannot click anywhere outside the mixer without the mixer closing.

If there is nothing that can be done to change that then a simple, straightforward, it can't be done would be more helpful then guessing what people may or may not mean.

So this behavior can't be changed?

Thanks
__________________
Sam
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-15-2013, 09:00 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: How can I keep my mixer view in view?

marker locations
advanced window layout
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
View multiple sends in fader view. yamahadrums Pro Tools 9 6 03-07-2012 07:53 AM
Spectograph view in addition to waveform view? digidesigner Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-20-2010 10:08 AM
Color on Mixer View Gons Deejay 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-29-2008 12:29 PM
Quick key for changing edit view to volume view in track? postman56 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 11-30-2007 11:56 AM
View Audio Automation Midi View change TommyT Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-04-2007 01:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com