Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-11-2020, 09:55 AM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,221
Default Best Settings To Bounce Out An MPEG4 ?

Hola. .
There's probably a post about this somewhere here, but I have failed to find it. .
I have a session that contains a Pro Res 422 HQ 1920 x1080 25fps.

I have finished the mix & want to send out a reference MPEG4 for the producers to see.
Does anyone have any particular advice as to the Quicktime settings ?

Much appreciated . .
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.12.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V19.12 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.6 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG

~ Mac Pro (Early 2009) - 2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core-32 GB RAM-10.13.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 / Apollo 16 / Avid S3 ~
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-11-2020, 10:37 AM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 530
Default Re: Best Settings To Bounce Out An MPEG4 ?

I'll preface this by saying I'm not a video editor so I don't really care about the visual quality or artifacts

I've been using VBR with a target bitrate of 4Mbps and max of 5.

It will only do PCM audio. Which is good for approvals as long as file size isn't an issue.

I'd like to see Avid add H265.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-13-2020, 01:09 PM
EarHole EarHole is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 830
Default Re: Best Settings To Bounce Out An MPEG4 ?

Do you have Video Compression Software or are you talking about doing it from PT?

I always bounce it out w/o changing the video and then using something like FFWorks, compress it down using a Preset.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-14-2020, 07:14 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,884
Default Re: Best Settings To Bounce Out An MPEG4 ?

Here's a simple option. Make sure your audio bounce is exactly the same length as the picture. Do an audio only bounce. Use Shutter Encoder (an excellent free app that does several cool things BTW), and use the replace audio function. The video is unchanged, but the audio mix is now new. Viola.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 hex 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-14-2020, 07:26 AM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,221
Default Re: Best Settings To Bounce Out An MPEG4 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
Here's a simple option. Make sure your audio bounce is exactly the same length as the picture. Do an audio only bounce. Use Shutter Encoder (an excellent free app that does several cool things BTW), and use the replace audio function. The video is unchanged, but the audio mix is now new. Viola.
Hi EGS. .

Yes, thanks, I usually do the same using QT Pro, but in this instance, I have had to make a timeline edit to the picture, so need to bounce out video too.

My question was really geared towards the video settings available in PT.

When the project is properly finished, I plan to export "same as source" video with 48/24 wav audio giving me a "full fat" master to then use to make mpeg-4 or H264 movs that can be used to send out tasters. .
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.12.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V19.12 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.6 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG

~ Mac Pro (Early 2009) - 2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core-32 GB RAM-10.13.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 / Apollo 16 / Avid S3 ~

Last edited by priorytools; 12-14-2020 at 09:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-14-2020, 09:06 AM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,250
Default Re: Best Settings To Bounce Out An MPEG4 ?

I know this is a monthly fee after a 30 day trial, but it you are in a pinch. this is the best way to go.

I used it and it works really well and does a great job on deliverables. From my editor, who says it covers all of the bases.

https://www.adobe.com/products/media-encoder.html

G
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2020.12 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid HD IO
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Mojave 10.14.6, Digital Performer 9.5.2, Logic Pro X 10.5.1
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-14-2020, 09:19 AM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,221
Default Re: Best Settings To Bounce Out An MPEG4 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gives View Post
I know this is a monthly fee after a 30 day trial, but it you are in a pinch. this is the best way to go.

I used it and it works really well and does a great job on deliverables. From my editor, who says it covers all of the bases.

https://www.adobe.com/products/media-encoder.html

G
Thanks G.
Moving forward,(setting up new Mac Pro with Catalina on)
I am getting to know DaVinci Resolve which I plan to use instead of QT Pro.
https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/pro...avinciresolve/
Considering it's free it's quite remarkable. .
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.12.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V19.12 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.6 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG

~ Mac Pro (Early 2009) - 2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core-32 GB RAM-10.13.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 / Apollo 16 / Avid S3 ~
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-14-2020, 02:20 PM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,250
Default Re: Best Settings To Bounce Out An MPEG4 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by priorytools View Post
Thanks G.
Moving forward,(setting up new Mac Pro with Catalina on)
I am getting to know DaVinci Resolve which I plan to use instead of QT Pro.
https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/pro...avinciresolve/
Considering it's free it's quite remarkable. .
Cool!
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2020.12 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid HD IO
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Mojave 10.14.6, Digital Performer 9.5.2, Logic Pro X 10.5.1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bounce to Quicktime - useful settings dopplah Post - Surround - Video 26 11-12-2006 07:34 PM
creating .mov/mpeg4 file from dvd - other ways? 1tonstudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-09-2006 11:08 AM
importing mpeg4 files into pro tools maxi-milli 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-09-2006 06:11 PM
Importing mpeg4 files to ProTools LE SeeHanda 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-31-2003 06:54 PM
New music and short mpeg4 video added to www.danniielle.com Doc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-31-2001 06:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com