Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  ē  Community Terms of Use  ē  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  ē  Community Search  ē  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-03-2020, 05:23 AM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,221
Default Re: New Mac Pro 16 core...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
Congratulations!

Itís a beast of a machine to be sure. Iím having the most stable, trouble-free Pro Tools experience Iíve had for years.
Hi Marsdy.
I have to set up 2 new 16core Mac Pros, (for sister studios).
I have been watching Neil Parfitt on YT & looking at your recommendations in the New Mac Pro (7.1) thread. I am going with SONNET Fusion SSD M.2 4x4 PCIe Card - Silent-Loaded with 3 x 2TB scratch / sound libs & 1 x 1TB to run the system on. . . And putting that in slot#3 as per your recommendation.
I am HDX2, plus a UAD card, do you have any slot number recommendations for these ?

To be honest I haven't had time to even open the boxes yet, but am assuming they've come with Catalina. .

I am hoping to find some time next week. .
What OS & PT versions are you using that's giving such a trouble free experience?

Stay safe . .
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.12.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V19.12 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.6 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG

~ Mac Pro (Early 2009) - 2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core-32 GB RAM-10.13.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 / Apollo 16 / Avid S3 ~
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-03-2020, 05:47 AM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,937
Default Re: New Mac Pro 16 core...

Quote:
Originally Posted by priorytools View Post
Hi Marsdy.
I have to set up 2 new 16core Mac Pros, (for sister studios).
I have been watching Neil Parfitt on YT & looking at your recommendations in the New Mac Pro (7.1) thread. I am going with SONNET Fusion SSD M.2 4x4 PCIe Card - Silent-Loaded with 3 x 2TB scratch / sound libs & 1 x 1TB to run the system on. . . And putting that in slot#3 as per your recommendation.
I am HDX2, plus a UAD card, do you have any slot number recommendations for these ?

To be honest I haven't had time to even open the boxes yet, but am assuming they've come with Catalina. .

I am hoping to find some time next week. .
What OS & PT versions are you using that's giving such a trouble free experience?

Stay safe . .
My HDX1 is in slot 6 but Iíve also had it in slot 5. I moved it to slot 6 (x8) because itís a x4 card so I figured thereís no point in using up a higher bandwidth slot. Itís worked perfectly in both and you donít need the Belkin power cables providing you have the original cables that came with your HDX cards (the smaller of the two 6 pin cables fits). Iíd go with the Avid recommendation of slot 5 and 6 for HDX2.

Slot 3 is indeed the best place for the Sonnet proving you donít have a second GPU. That slot is x16 and has a direct pipeline to the CPU for maximum bandwidth. The Sonnet needs a x16 slot (slots 3, 4 or 5) for best performance. A word of warning though, the Sonnet is often quite hard to get your hands on in the UK. I got mine from scan.co.uk .

Yes it will come with Catalina. Mine came with 10.15.2 in May which was already two versions out of date! Now is probably a good time to get the new Mac Pro because I guess theyíll come with Mac OS Big Sur soon.

Iím currently running 10.15.5 and PT Ultimate 2020.9.1.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-03-2020, 07:59 AM
thebeatless thebeatless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 64
Default Re: New Mac Pro 16 core...

It really is great to see that some of you are happy with these machines. Personally, I feel like I've been duped by apple. While waiting for this machine to be released last year, I built a modest windows computer to test/play around with. It ended up being the most stable computer for pro tools that I had ever used, so I kept using it for about 8 months. Sure, it had a couple of occasional issues, but for the most part, it would go all day, sometimes weeks, without a single hiccup. But... I'm heavily sucked into the apple ecosystem, and I missed a few things. Sadly, the number one thing I missed was imessage! haha SO.... I purchased a 16 core mac pro. It couldn't play back sessions from my i9900ks PC without constant cpu errors and crashes. These aren't large sessions, even a smallish 44.1 session could bring the mac pro to it's knees. I returned it and went back to using the PC. Friends and other users kept telling me there was something wrong with that mac pro, and they were bragging about how amazing theirs are. I tried it again, and this time I can't return it because I was too slow at getting it setup. Now that it's setup and I'm working with it daily, I HATE IT! Just like the previous machine, it can't play sessions from my PC without constant CPU errors, and some of the CPU errors won't allow playback until I relaunch pro tools, or reboot the computer. I definitely can't open sonnox drum gate during playback! If I do that, I'm guaranteed a 5 minute break for a reboot and session relaunch. It's a fine computer, but when a PC that costs 8k less outperforms it, it's just hard to convince myself to keep it. I'm sure it's great for other applications, but I just don't think this is a great pro tools machine.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-03-2020, 08:11 AM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,221
Default Re: New Mac Pro 16 core...

thebeatless . .
Oh dear, that doesn't sound good. .
I'm sure you've probably been around the houses fault finding, but, having read a few might I ask, which graphics card do you have & do you have anything other than a display plugged into it?
Marsdy might have some fault finding tips for you . . ?
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.12.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V19.12 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.6 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG

~ Mac Pro (Early 2009) - 2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core-32 GB RAM-10.13.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 / Apollo 16 / Avid S3 ~
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-03-2020, 03:59 PM
thebeatless thebeatless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 64
Default Re: New Mac Pro 16 core...

Just the 580x
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-03-2020, 06:54 PM
audioluche audioluche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC, Canada
Posts: 752
Default Re: New Mac Pro 16 core...

Quote:
Originally Posted by thebeatless View Post
It really is great to see that some of you are happy with these machines. Personally, I feel like I've been duped by apple. While waiting for this machine to be released last year, I built a modest windows computer to test/play around with. It ended up being the most stable computer for pro tools that I had ever used, so I kept using it for about 8 months. Sure, it had a couple of occasional issues, but for the most part, it would go all day, sometimes weeks, without a single hiccup. But... I'm heavily sucked into the apple ecosystem, and I missed a few things. Sadly, the number one thing I missed was imessage! haha SO.... I purchased a 16 core mac pro. It couldn't play back sessions from my i9900ks PC without constant cpu errors and crashes. These aren't large sessions, even a smallish 44.1 session could bring the mac pro to it's knees. I returned it and went back to using the PC. Friends and other users kept telling me there was something wrong with that mac pro, and they were bragging about how amazing theirs are. I tried it again, and this time I can't return it because I was too slow at getting it setup. Now that it's setup and I'm working with it daily, I HATE IT! Just like the previous machine, it can't play sessions from my PC without constant CPU errors, and some of the CPU errors won't allow playback until I relaunch pro tools, or reboot the computer. I definitely can't open sonnox drum gate during playback! If I do that, I'm guaranteed a 5 minute break for a reboot and session relaunch. It's a fine computer, but when a PC that costs 8k less outperforms it, it's just hard to convince myself to keep it. I'm sure it's great for other applications, but I just don't think this is a great pro tools machine.
Oh, damm. Verry sorry for you the Beatless.
I'm sure there is something wrong with your setup.
The 16 core is really rocking with Pro Tools here, big sessions, tons of tracks and cpu taxing plugins like Multiplicity, Dyneone, Altiverbs, etc..etc..
No sweat at all.

Dont give up, i hope you will be able to find the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-03-2020, 08:25 PM
thebeatless thebeatless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 64
Default Re: New Mac Pro 16 core...

I wouldn't call it giving up if I go back to the PC. It can handle my workflow better, and selling the Mac Pro puts some money back into my bank account. I JUST moved from the LA area to the Nashville area, and I have to build a new mix room, which is going much slower than I'd like! Selling the mac pro would help with the huge expense, and I can try apple again when they've got an ARM Mac Pro. Kind of want to say "instead of ARM and a leg Mac Pro", but that's taking it too far. I truly do like and prefer mac OS.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-17-2020, 07:06 AM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,221
Default New Mac Pro 16 core...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
My HDX1 is in slot 6 but Iíve also had it in slot 5. I moved it to slot 6 (x8) because itís a x4 card so I figured thereís no point in using up a higher bandwidth slot. Itís worked perfectly in both and you donít need the Belkin power cables providing you have the original cables that came with your HDX cards (the smaller of the two 6 pin cables fits). Iíd go with the Avid recommendation of slot 5 and 6 for HDX2.

Slot 3 is indeed the best place for the Sonnet proving you donít have a second GPU. That slot is x16 and has a direct pipeline to the CPU for maximum bandwidth. The Sonnet needs a x16 slot (slots 3, 4 or 5) for best performance. A word of warning though, the Sonnet is often quite hard to get your hands on in the UK. I got mine from scan.co.uk .

Yes it will come with Catalina. Mine came with 10.15.2 in May which was already two versions out of date! Now is probably a good time to get the new Mac Pro because I guess theyíll come with Mac OS Big Sur soon.

Iím currently running 10.15.5 and PT Ultimate 2020.9.1.

Hi Marsdy.
Jeeez . . Today I've actually found time get one out of it's box. .

How does this slot lay out strike you ?
1-Graphics card
2-UAD-Octo
3-Sonnet M.2 NVME card
4-Sonnet USB C card
5-
6-HDX#1
7-HDX#2

How does that look dude ?
And how's this for a plan of action ?

I plan to:
1-initialise the machine on the internal Apple NVME with the 8GB stock RAM.
Test.
2-Install my 3rd party RAM. Test.
3-Install Pro Tools with just stock plugins. Test.
4-Install UAD card. Test
5-Install Sonnet USB C card. Test.
6-Set up the Sonnet M.2 card, install, CCC the system NVME onto the 1TB NVME on the Sonnet card, boot from that & test.
7-Install 3rd party plugins. Testing after each manufacturers batch.

Your thoughts & suggestions would be much & hugely appreciated. .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.12.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V19.12 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.6 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG

~ Mac Pro (Early 2009) - 2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core-32 GB RAM-10.13.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 / Apollo 16 / Avid S3 ~

Last edited by priorytools; 11-17-2020 at 03:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-17-2020, 10:24 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 993
Default Re: New Mac Pro 16 core...

Quote:
Originally Posted by priorytools View Post
Hi Marsdy.
Jeeez . . Today I've actually found time get one out of it's box. .

How does this slot lay out strike you ?
1-Graphics card
2-UAD-Octo
3-Sonnet M.2 NVME card
4-Sonnet USB C card
5-
6-HDX#1
7-HDX#2
That looks OK. Here's the order I used:

1- GPU
2- GPU
3- NVMe card
4- HDX #1
5- HDX #2
6- UAD Octo #1
7- UAD Octo #2
8- Apple I/O card
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-18-2020, 01:01 AM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,937
Default Re: New Mac Pro 16 core...

Quote:
Originally Posted by priorytools View Post
Hi Marsdy.
Jeeez . . Today I've actually found time get one out of it's box. .

How does this slot lay out strike you ?
1-Graphics card
2-UAD-Octo
3-Sonnet M.2 NVME card
4-Sonnet USB C card
5-
6-HDX#1
7-HDX#2

How does that look dude ?
And how's this for a plan of action ?

I plan to:
1-initialise the machine on the internal Apple NVME with the 8GB stock RAM.
Test.
2-Install my 3rd party RAM. Test.
3-Install Pro Tools with just stock plugins. Test.
4-Install UAD card. Test
5-Install Sonnet USB C card. Test.
6-Set up the Sonnet M.2 card, install, CCC the system NVME onto the 1TB NVME on the Sonnet card, boot from that & test.
7-Install 3rd party plugins. Testing after each manufacturers batch.

Your thoughts & suggestions would be much & hugely appreciated. .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Sounds like a plan.

The HDX card in slot 7 would be right by the main CPU. Iím just wondering if heat from the CPU might make it more likely the fan on the HDX card triggers. If the Mac is out of earshot then that wouldnít be an issue of course.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade 6 core Mac Pro to 12 core, or sell Mac Pro for 8 core iMac Pro? jaminjamesp macOS 3 12-13-2019 02:16 PM
Upgrade my 6 core 2013 MacPro to a 12 core, or get a new 6 core when released? jaminjamesp macOS 2 03-15-2019 04:26 PM
Macbook Air 2014 (1.4ghz Dual-core Intel core i5 Vs. Mid 2010 MBP i7 Quad-Core and PT TheGoodhusbands Virtual Instruments 2 09-11-2015 11:49 AM
Intel Core i7 2.0GHz Quad-Core Processor or Intel Core i7 2.7GHz Dual-Core Processor? okodub Pro Tools 9 3 09-23-2011 08:33 AM
Single core vs. dual core vs. quad core John Peeples Tips & Tricks 9 11-07-2007 04:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com