Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-01-2020, 09:19 AM
MixerGuy MixerGuy is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA CA USA
Posts: 873
Default Safe way to move all PT Plugin Settings from old rig Sierra to new rig? (Catalina)

Safe way to move all PT Plugin Settings from old rig Sierra to new rig? (Catalina)

Hi all

My old PT rig is Sierra 10.12.6 running PT 2019.6 (HDX cards)

New rig (brand new Mac Pro) is a clean install of Catalina 10.15.5 running PT 2020.5 Ultimate.
(HDX cards)

Wanting stability on the new rig. Did not Data Migrate anything (and don’t want to).
Fresh download and install of all plugins.

Is there a *safe* way to move *all* PT Plugin Settings from old rig Sierra to new rig? (Catalina) as I have quite a few of my own presets (plugin settings stored) I’d like to be able to get to.

If yes - exactly what files do I move over? and where do I find them? and how do I do it safely?

Any caveats?

Using a very wide range of plugs… both Native and DSP…. from many manufacturers.

Thanks for any tips and tricks.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-01-2020, 09:32 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,727
Default Re: Safe way to move all PT Plugin Settings from old rig Sierra to new rig? (Catalina

Locate the plugin settings folder and copy it over. Settings are normal files and even if you copy some settings that belong to plugins you are not using anymore, they do not eat very much storage space. But do this after you have installed your plugins, because installers may copy over your existing files.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-01-2020, 09:38 AM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,221
Default Re: Safe way to move all PT Plugin Settings from old rig Sierra to new rig? (Catalina

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixerGuy View Post
Safe way to move all PT Plugin Settings from old rig Sierra to new rig? (Catalina)

Hi all

My old PT rig is Sierra 10.12.6 running PT 2019.6 (HDX cards)

New rig (brand new Mac Pro) is a clean install of Catalina 10.15.5 running PT 2020.5 Ultimate.
(HDX cards)

Wanting stability on the new rig. Did not Data Migrate anything (and don’t want to).
Fresh download and install of all plugins.

Is there a *safe* way to move *all* PT Plugin Settings from old rig Sierra to new rig? (Catalina) as I have quite a few of my own presets (plugin settings stored) I’d like to be able to get to.

If yes - exactly what files do I move over? and where do I find them? and how do I do it safely?

Any caveats?

Using a very wide range of plugs… both Native and DSP…. from many manufacturers.

Thanks for any tips and tricks.


Hi MixerGuy.
I am approaching the “new Mac Pro point” too.
Do you mind my asking which spec you opted for ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.12.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V19.12 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.6 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG

~ Mac Pro (Early 2009) - 2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core-32 GB RAM-10.13.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 / Apollo 16 / Avid S3 ~
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-01-2020, 11:49 AM
MixerGuy MixerGuy is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA CA USA
Posts: 873
Default Re: Safe way to move all PT Plugin Settings from old rig Sierra to new rig? (Catalina

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Locate the plugin settings folder and copy it over. Settings are normal files and even if you copy some settings that belong to plugins you are not using anymore, they do not eat very much storage space. But do this after you have installed your plugins, because installers may copy over your existing files.
Thanks - so nothing different in Catalina. Awesome.

So is this considered a safe maneuver? Risk free?

meaning the plugin settings can't be corrupted and cause any issues?

and can anyone steer me to the correct Plugins Settings Folder?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-01-2020, 11:50 AM
MixerGuy MixerGuy is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA CA USA
Posts: 873
Default Re: Safe way to move all PT Plugin Settings from old rig Sierra to new rig? (Catalina

Quote:
Originally Posted by priorytools View Post
Hi MixerGuy.
I am approaching the “new Mac Pro point” too.
Do you mind my asking which spec you opted for ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
16 core.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-01-2020, 12:16 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,727
Default Re: Safe way to move all PT Plugin Settings from old rig Sierra to new rig? (Catalina

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixerGuy View Post
can anyone steer me to the correct Plugins Settings Folder?
Depends on your user setting on PT. Mine is at iCloud Drive/Documents/Pro Tools/Plug-In Settings and no need to copy over after a fresh install.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-01-2020, 01:51 PM
MixerGuy MixerGuy is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA CA USA
Posts: 873
Default Re: Safe way to move all PT Plugin Settings from old rig Sierra to new rig? (Catalina

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Depends on your user setting on PT. Mine is at iCloud Drive/Documents/Pro Tools/Plug-In Settings and no need to copy over after a fresh install.
Thanks much.

UPDATE: I quit ProTools, copied over the Plugin-Settings folder (into the correct place) archived the old boring stock Plugin-Settings folder ..... restarted the Mac, Launched, but ProTools isn't seeing my new Plugin-Settings folder :-(

do i need to trash PT prefs to get it to see it? or - ?

thanks



FWIIW - for anyone else - On my stock rig - ProTools Plugin-Settings files are at:

Documents / ProTools / Plug-In Settings. (Folder)


Last edited by MixerGuy; 09-01-2020 at 02:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-01-2020, 03:35 PM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,221
Default Re: Safe way to move all PT Plugin Settings from old rig Sierra to new rig? (Catalina

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixerGuy View Post
16 core.

Ah ha. Thanks. That’s the core-idge I’m heading for.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.12.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V19.12 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.6 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG

~ Mac Pro (Early 2009) - 2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core-32 GB RAM-10.13.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 / Apollo 16 / Avid S3 ~
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it safe (enough) to jump from Mojave to Catalina? Eric Lambert Pro Tools 2020 17 08-13-2020 12:43 AM
PT11+update from Hig Sierra to Catalina Oscar Soto Pro Tools 11 2 05-01-2020 08:48 AM
Is High Sierra safe yet? Ru_C macOS 2 06-10-2018 01:11 PM
Sierra 10.12.1 safe with PT 12.6 ??? marcnyc Pro Tools 12 15 12-13-2016 10:01 PM
is it safe to move to move to SL ilulilu888 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 12-05-2010 11:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com