Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-22-2010, 08:38 AM

Default Music Bed vs Voice Over is there a metered level they should be apart?

I've been mixing music for over 16 years and am just now starting to get into mixing for post and am curious if there's a desired dynamic range (metered goal) between commercial voice overs and the music bed. Thanks!
Luker[at]acaciarecording[dot]com
Studio 301-703-0035
Old 01-22-2010, 09:26 AM

Default Re: Music Bed vs Voice Over is there a metered level they should be apart?

No. It all depends on the voice and the music. A number won't do it, you'll have to use your ears.

-R

www.TakomaMedia.com
Old 01-22-2010, 09:28 AM

Default Re: Music Bed vs Voice Over is there a metered level they should be apart?

yeah its an ear thing, you just have to feel out whats right... although if you are doing commercial work where the VO is loud and up to about -12 or -10 then starting with the music at about -22 to -18 is a good place... but its all relative and depends on the context, the voice, the music, the style of show/commercial....
Old 01-22-2010, 11:29 AM

Thanks for all your input! I mixed a spot yesterday and the clients happy but the film company sent me a message this morning wondering if the music bed is too loud. When referencing the mix on auratones, NS10's and studio mains at low volumes the narration is very easy to hear. I was just wondering if anyone had a guide beyond opinion... How does the loudness war effect post work for TV. Are there volume standards that I should be concerned with? I know there's a bunch of format things I need learn. Thanks in advance!
Studio 301-703-0035
Old 01-22-2010, 12:38 PM