Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-28-2010, 06:03 AM
Bulley Bulley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 38
Unhappy Pro Tools "install hangs at Installing Digidesign hardware drivers"

Hi,

First off, I think I've tried eveything in the general troubleshooting section. including turning off DEP.

I've just got Pro Tools M-Powered 8.0.3 on win xp sp3 and I can't get it to install. I'm running a dual boot system and it installs fine on my supposedly "junk" partition (also xp sp3) that I use for internet, games etc but on my streamlined, pristine music partition....nope.
When I'm trying to install it gets as far as the "installing digidesign hardware drivers" section, i'll have to click 2 instances of the windows xp are you sure you want to install this driver bit before it hangs.
I don't have internet explorer 8 installed. all drivers, including ilok are up to date, as is windows.

So I've tried:
- cancelling the individual processes in task manager as suggested in a few places on the web, this allows me to finish the install but Pro Tools won't launch, it just flashes up the "loading pro tools" page briefly before dissapearing. i've tried cancelling them in different orders as well.
- leaving it to install for over an hour. still nothing
- downloading "digidesign audio drivers 8.0.3" and installing them manually. still nothing. they install but i also get a "
microsoft visual c++ 2005 redistributable installer returned an error error 1612
error during installation" during the install. Pro Tools still won't launch.
- uninstalling drivers for my soundcard. same. also disconnecting soundcard. same.
- deleting all references to digidesign from my computer, temp folders, everywhere and going through the registry manually and with ccleaner and another registry cleaner (forgot its name) doing the same. nope.

Setup:
Mainboard: Asus P5K
Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @
2.40GHz
Win XP SP3, up to date
M-Audio Profire 2626 + PCI audiophile 2496
Pro Tools M-Powered 8.0.3 straight from DVD. Also tried installing the downloadable version.
4 GB RAM
4 Sata Hard Drives
TI Firewire PCI card + Via onboard firewire
ATI Radeon HD 5700 Graphics Card

Tearing what's left of my hair out here,

Phil

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-28-2010, 07:14 AM
promixr promixr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 859
Default Re: Pro Tools "install hangs at Installing Digidesign hardware drivers"

Something is telling me it might have to do with the M-Audio hardware combination you have, remove the PCI card from the equation and see what happens...
__________________
Eddie Sullivan
Long Island Mac Tech
http://long-island-mac-tech.com
long.island.mac.tech@gmail.com
631 786 3924

Freelance Mac/Pro Tools tech for hire. Metro New York Area.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-28-2010, 07:52 AM
Bulley Bulley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 38
Default Re: Pro Tools "install hangs at Installing Digidesign hardware drivers"

thanks for the reply. just tried that and.............nothing. hangs at the same place. worth a try though.
because it installed on my other os i'm thinking it might be some software conflict or something somewhere but no idea what it could be.

phil
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-28-2010, 07:57 AM
Bulley Bulley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 38
Default Re: Pro Tools "install hangs at Installing Digidesign hardware drivers"

thanks for the reply. just tried that and.............nothing. hangs at the same place. worth a try though.
because it installed on my other os i'm thinking it might be some software conflict or something somewhere but no idea what it could be.

phil
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-01-2010, 03:12 AM
Bulley Bulley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 38
Default Re: Pro Tools "install hangs at Installing Digidesign hardware drivers"

bumpity
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-01-2010, 05:10 AM
Bulley Bulley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 38
Default Re: Pro Tools "install hangs at Installing Digidesign hardware drivers"

Quote:
Originally Posted by kdarbyshirebryant View Post
http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=243184

Try entering the IE8 registry tweak as documented above.
like your thinking but nope. just tried installing in safe mode as well as creating a new user account as suggested by digi tech support. still no.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-13-2010, 07:49 AM
beatpete beatpete is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 31
Default Re: Pro Tools "install hangs at Installing Digidesign hardware drivers"

I have the same problem, did you ever figure it out?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-13-2010, 08:49 PM
fevoice fevoice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 6
Default Re: Pro Tools "install hangs at Installing Digidesign hardware drivers"

I think I had the same problem. Pro Tools would install but would hang up when opening or loading the software.

If this is your problem and you're using Internet Explorer 8, roll back to IE7. That's what I did and all works like a charm.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-16-2010, 10:29 AM
beatpete beatpete is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 31
Default Re: Pro Tools "install hangs at Installing Digidesign hardware drivers"

Quote:
Originally Posted by fevoice View Post
I think I had the same problem. Pro Tools would install but would hang up when opening or loading the software.

If this is your problem and you're using Internet Explorer 8, roll back to IE7. That's what I did and all works like a charm.
Thanks for the response.
I'm on Windows 7 64 bit, IE8 is included and I can't roll back. Any other ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-27-2010, 08:47 AM
beatpete beatpete is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 31
Default Re: Pro Tools "install hangs at Installing Digidesign hardware drivers"

Anyone?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProTools LE 8 on Windows 7- installation hangs at "Installing Avid Hardware Drivers"! jesster24 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 12-20-2013 10:19 AM
Pro tools 8 hangs on digidesign installing hardware wapeddell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-05-2012 06:27 PM
SYSTEM HANG on "Installing Digidesign hardware drivers" jcaseyonbass 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 10-02-2009 04:15 PM
SYSTEM HANG on "Installing Digidesign hardware drivers" Jim Casey 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-02-2009 01:14 PM
DIGI 002, Problem installing hardware driver "cannot find hardware" on install inevitable realisation 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 26 08-21-2003 02:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com