Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2010, 03:09 AM
sonicam sonicam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: London
Posts: 30
Default Slaving a video recorder/camera to PT HD transport? Recording synced video with audio

Hi,
We've been asked to do a VO job where they want synced video of the talents face with the dialogue recordings.

The video doesn't need to be high quality.

My question is how do you slave a (cheap...) video camera to PT's transport. So when you punch in etc the camera records and the timecodes match between the session and the video?

Tools at our disposal, Unitor 8 (with LTC, VITC, in out) and MOTU Digital time piece (SMPTE, LTC, VITC, MTC)

We have a Canopus AV110 firewire interface, is it possible to capture from a camera straight into a PT HD session using the Canopiss?

Also we have another mac with a Blackmagic capture card, possibly we could link the systems?

Sorry if this is a bit vague but i thought this would be the best place to start, hopefully get a poke in the right direction.

cheers
Paul

PT HD 7.4 PPC
__________________
http://www.sonicamusic.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-18-2010, 03:22 AM
cmrahm cmrahm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 42
Default Re: Slaving a video recorder/camera to PT HD transport? Recording synced video with a

Hi Paul,
I do all of my video work in Final Cut Pro, then export a Quicktime file (Low resolution is fine). I then Import the QT video into Pro Tools and add whatever I need (VO, FX, Foley, Soundtracks), do my audio edits/mixes and export everything back to FCP for final authoring. Everything is zeroed out and synced. I have used various cameras/decks via PT transport, but I find that you need a SYNC|HD box and Machine Control (extra cash/gear that I have no other use for since I have another clocking source that I prefer). Hope that helps.
-Chris
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-18-2010, 05:04 AM
sonicam sonicam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: London
Posts: 30
Default Re: Slaving a video recorder/camera to PT HD transport? Recording synced video with a

thanks.
We're well versed in sound to picture post production.
Its just the simultaneous recording of video and audio in the protools environment i'm interested in. (Or at least with the same TC on both the files)
I think with the Unitor and the Motu DT we have most of the functionality of a Sync HD.
I've just been looking into VirtualVTR running on a separate mac with a capture card. Could be a possibility...
__________________
http://www.sonicamusic.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-18-2010, 06:43 AM
drenkrom drenkrom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Quebec
Posts: 393
Default Re: Slaving a video recorder/camera to PT HD transport? Recording synced video with a

I'm not familiar at all with the particular pieces of equipment you're using, but what I've done for such sessions was to run the TC from PT over to our AJA Kona3 video interface located on another machine and patched the output from the camera to an input on the same interface. With the AJA's utility suite, we can then record with BITC. After the session, we ingest the selected takes into the FCP timeline, spot them to their timestamp, cut the video to match and export to whatever format is required. I'd imagine this type of thing could be done with the equipment you listed, but I've never used BlackMagic products and you don't list which model you use.

When I've done this, it was for things that would go to CG and the graphics guys wanted the BITC. It could be done without it, by just logging your video capture to incoming TC.

IHTH
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-18-2010, 08:32 AM
Syn-g Syn-g is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Pacific Palisades,Ca,USA
Posts: 217
Default Re: Slaving a video recorder/camera to PT HD transport? Recording synced video with a

I have a similar question. I am looking at purchasing a consumer Canon HD video cam to record a pianist while recording audio into PT. My plan was to record the video with it's built in audio and the PT audio at the same time but not locked to code, then import them into Final Cut Express and replace the built in video audio with the PT audio and author down to DVD. Is this possible or will i run into sync issues?
__________________
PTHD6 / C|24 Controller / Euphonix MC Mix Controller / PT v.10.2
Intel MacPro 2.8ghz Quad Xeon / 18gigs ram/ PE6R4 Expansion Chassis w/Core,4 accel,1 process card, 46" & 24" monitors

Syn-g
www.bulletsage.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-18-2010, 08:39 AM
BaileyBass BaileyBass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,095
Default Re: Slaving a video recorder/camera to PT HD transport? Recording synced video with a

Quote:
Originally Posted by Syn-g View Post
I have a similar question. I am looking at purchasing a consumer Canon HD video cam to record a pianist while recording audio into PT. My plan was to record the video with it's built in audio and the PT audio at the same time but not locked to code, then import them into Final Cut Express and replace the built in video audio with the PT audio and author down to DVD. Is this possible or will i run into sync issues?
Yes... been there done that. NOT fun for the editor. Sync is a must. Look for posts by Eric Seaberg, DIAFFMX, and some others. They know the deal.
If you are doing a one camera shoot, your are in even deeper poop, as there is nothing else to "cut to".(other camera angles) to make up for the drift (several frames every few minutes)if you do it as you are planning. good luck. SB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio Post from 1 synced and 1 non-synced camera Halstein Post - Surround - Video 2 02-04-2010 05:56 PM
Video Camera Signal pmueller VENUE Live Sound Systems 4 01-13-2009 12:38 PM
Using a LE rig for a audio field recorder for video prod. MRED22 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 05-31-2008 02:49 PM
synch Pro Tools LE with video from DV camera?? doozerco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 09-21-2004 02:50 PM
PTLE synced with Vegas Video for more audio tracks? LEV 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 05-15-2002 11:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com