Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-27-2010, 10:05 PM
melodic777 melodic777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 12
Default DAE errors, distortion, Oh MY

I am getting 9031 and 9013 error codes, no matter what I'm doing, it doesn't seem to help. I have tried to use only one of the 2 processors at 85%, then 90%, I updated to the new 8.04cs update, and now when I record enable, without even being close to clipping, I get a crazy distorted signal, it's intermittent, but usually stops for a few seconds, then I get distortion for another 5 minutes, or until I am about to bodyslam my computer, so I give up. Here's what I got in my computer


SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : Dell Studio 1737
Workgroup : WORKGROUP
Host Name : Randy-Dell
User : Randy

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T6400 @ 2.00GHz
Speed : 2GHz
Cores per Processor : 2 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 1 Unit(s)
Type : Mobile, Dual-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 2x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size
L2 On-board Cache : 2MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing

Computer
Platform Compliance : Intel Centrino Mobile Technology
Mainboard : Dell 0P792H
BIOS : Dell A04 11/26/2008
Bus(es) : X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 3GB DDR3 SO-DIMM

Chipset
Model : Dell GM45 Mobile Controller Hub
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 200MHz (800MHz)
Total Memory : 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM
Shared Memory : 32MB
Channels : 2
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 400MHz (800MHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Nanya NT2GT64U8HD0BN-AD 2GB DDR2 SO-DIMM PC2-6400U DDR2-800 (5-6-6-18 3-24-6-3)
Memory Module : Nanya NT2GT64U8HC0BN-AD 2GB DDR2 SO-DIMM PC2-6400U DDR2-800 (5-6-6-18 3-24-6-3)

Video System
Video Adapter : Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family (10 SM4.0 533MHz, 32MB DDR3, Integrated Graphics)

Graphics Processor

Storage Devices
Seagate ST9320423AS (320GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache) : 298GB (C:)
Seagate FreeAgent 1.5TB (USB) : 1TB (F:)
MotorolaA855 (USB) : N/A (E:)
HL-DT-ST DVD+/-RW GA10N (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (D:)

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (C:) : 298GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST9320423AS (320GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache)
Optical Drive (D:) : N/A @ HL-DT-ST DVD+/-RW GA10N (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)
FreeAgent Drive (F:) : 1TB (NTFS) @ Seagate FreeAgent 1.5TB (USB)
Removable Drive (E:) : N/A @ MotorolaA855 (USB)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Dell (ICH9M) LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : Winbond W83687THF
Audio Device : Dell (ICH9) HD Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Integrated Device Tech 7675h
Audio Codec : Intel 82GL40 [Cantiga] High Definition Audio HDMI Service
Disk Controller : Dell (ICH9) Mobile SATA AHCI Controller
Disk Controller : Dell SD Bus Host Adapter
USB Controller 1 : Dell (ICH9) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 2 : Dell (ICH9) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 3 : Dell (ICH9) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 4 : Dell (ICH9) USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
USB Controller 5 : Dell (ICH9) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 6 : Dell (ICH9) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 7 : Dell (ICH9) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 8 : Dell (ICH9) USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : Dell R5C832 IEEE-1394 Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft Office Document Image Writer Driver (200x200)
Printer : Lexmark 7300 Series (4800x4800, USB, Colour)

Scanners and Cameras
Scanner : Xerox WorkCentre Pro Scanner (Scanner, 600x600, USB)
Scanner : Lexmark 7300 Series (Scanner, 1200x1200, USB)

Peripherals
Media Player : ()

Network Services
Network Adapter : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet (Ethernet, 100Mbps)
Wireless Adapter 1 : Dell Wireless 1510 Wireless-N WLAN Mini-Card

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line
Battery No 1 : 100%

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows Vista Home 6.00.6002 (Service Pack 2)
Platform Compliance : x86
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-27-2010, 10:50 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,226
Default Re: DAE errors, distortion, Oh MY

Hi melodic,

Be sure your wireless is disabled while PT is running.
Try changing your clock settings then set it back again.
What interface are you using?
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-28-2010, 01:54 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,687
Default Re: DAE errors, distortion, Oh MY

Storage Devices
Seagate ST9320423AS (320GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache) : 298GB (C:)
Seagate FreeAgent 1.5TB (USB) : 1TB (F:)
MotorolaA855 (USB) : N/A (E:)


I see a sata SYSTEM drive, and TWO USB drives, which I assume you're trying to record to? USB drives are not reliable recording devices, which you seem to have discovered. Un-supported protocol.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-28-2010, 02:05 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: DAE errors, distortion, Oh MY

Quote:
Originally Posted by melodic777 View Post
Video System
Video Adapter : Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family (10 SM4.0 533MHz, 32MB DDR3, Integrated Graphics)
Integrated graphics are not supported.

Quote:
Originally Posted by melodic777 View Post
Storage Devices
Seagate ST9320423AS (320GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache) : 298GB (C:)
Seagate FreeAgent 1.5TB (USB) : 1TB (F:)
MotorolaA855 (USB) : N/A (E:)
HL-DT-ST DVD+/-RW GA10N (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (D:)
USB drives are not supported. Even having one plugged in can cause issues. Recording to the system drive is also not supported. You need a second, physical disk for your session folders. It must be FireWire for best compatibility.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-28-2010, 02:08 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,687
Default Re: DAE errors, distortion, Oh MY

Plus DELLs are a notorious crapshoot with ProTools. Is this a laptop or a desktop? If it's a desktop I'd recommend a WESTERN DIGITAL BLACK internal sata drive.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-28-2010, 02:10 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: DAE errors, distortion, Oh MY

Quote:
Originally Posted by sw rec View Post
Plus DELLs are a notorious crapshoot with ProTools. Is this a laptop or a desktop? If it's a desktop I'd recommend a WESTERN DIGITAL BLACK internal sata drive.
Definitely a laptop. But I do see a FW bus on the thing.

However... the integrated graphics could be holding up the whole game, which could render the whole laptop useless for Pro Tools.

As you said... Dells are crapshoots for PT.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-28-2010, 02:54 PM
scadh scadh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 47
Default Re: DAE errors, distortion, Oh MY

This sounds quite similar to the issue I am experiencing. I posted to this forum about an hour or two ago describing my situation.

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=284951

However, I have none of the technical issues mentioned in the responses to this post: I do not have wireless (standard network adapter is disabled in Device Manager), I am not using an onboard video card (got a fanless ATI), I am not recording to the system drive, I have no external hard drives of any kind and this custom-built machine is not a Dell.

That having been said, my post has generated no replies thus far. :) I would be so unbelievably grateful if some of you who diagnosed this posters' issue so quickly and easily could take a moment to look at my Sandra report to see if you notice anything that jumps out at you as a possible cause to *my* similar problem!

Melodic777, do you get the static/distortion on instrument tracks when they are record-enabled, or only tracks that have their input set to your interface?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-28-2010, 03:08 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: DAE errors, distortion, Oh MY

Quote:
Originally Posted by scadh View Post
That having been said, my post has generated no replies thus far.
Part of the reason for that is that you are using M-Audio hardware and M_Powered software. This area is for Pro Tools LE with LE hardware. You will probably have better luck getting responses if you post in the MPowered section.

While you may be experiencing similar issues, because you are using different hardware and software, the problem and solution will probably not be the same. Any further assistance for you should/will be taken care of in your thread.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-28-2010, 03:18 PM
scadh scadh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 47
Default Re: DAE errors, distortion, Oh MY

Quote:
Originally Posted by spkguitar View Post
Part of the reason for that is that you are using M-Audio hardware and M_Powered software. This area is for Pro Tools LE with LE hardware. You will probably have better luck getting responses if you post in the MPowered section.

While you may be experiencing similar issues, because you are using different hardware and software, the problem and solution will probably not be the same. Any further assistance for you should/will be taken care of in your thread.
Yes, I apologize for that. I intended to put it there but realized after it was up that I had posted to the wrong forum (I read them both daily). If there's a way to move it after the fact, I will. Regardless, most of the posters in that forum are regulars here as well, so I remain cautiously optimistic that someone smarter than me might offer a suggestion or two.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-28-2010, 05:17 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,687
Default Re: DAE errors, distortion, Oh MY

Yes indeed...don't try recording to USB drives.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
many errors- fatal errors and 9060 error. Sandra report inlcuded.. bradykrzemien 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 19 09-16-2009 12:56 PM
HW Buffer errors and Mass Confusion! 9093 Errors!! guitarlancer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 02-08-2007 11:38 AM
G5 optical into 192 - Distortion & Clocking errors Polaris Post - Surround - Video 12 11-22-2006 12:10 PM
errors errors errors Please digi tech guys help me dunkyj 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-11-2005 02:19 PM
Sampling Errors and Distortion PT 6.0.1 Digikid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 05-09-2003 10:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com