Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-22-2005, 07:49 PM
Palli-Moon Palli-Moon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Reykjavík, Iceland
Posts: 105
Default Good desktop computer for Pro Tools

Wich one of these would you choose for use with Pro Tools LE and maybe later Pro Tools TDM?

Sweetwater Custom Computing Creation Station 3.2GHz Rack Computer
( http://www.sweetwater.com/creation_station/rack.php )

or

The Apple Power mac Dual 2.7GHz
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-22-2005, 11:26 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,797
Default Re: Good desktop computer for Pro Tools

It is a matter of preference for the user. Which OS do you like better. Keep in mind that Apple is goining to drop the IBM/Motorola based Power PC (known as the G5) as their processor for their systems in favor of Intel processors in 2006. That would make me cautious about buying a new top of the line Mac now. Also the Mac Dual G5 2.7 ships with OS 10.4 (Tiger) which is still not able to work with Protools LE yet. I think Protools TDM 6.9.2 is working however.

The Sweetwater Creation Station is a good collection of certified compatible components for Protools. It's a good choice if you are going the Intel Pentium 4 way. For now, The AMD64 processor seems to be the king of the hill in terms of speed and track/aux count.

Look at the first post for Best Desktops at the sticky post in this forum for details of the Allenstein PC. I'm looking at building one of these next as it seems to blow away everything else for now.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.13.6 running Protools 2018.7.0
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-23-2005, 07:50 AM
Palli-Moon Palli-Moon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Reykjavík, Iceland
Posts: 105
Default Re: Good desktop computer for Pro Tools

Ok thanks, that was usefull information, but one other thing. Does somebody know where I could find a computer case that is rack mount? I would like that very much
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-23-2005, 09:03 AM
madrock madrock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 443
Default Re: Good desktop computer for Pro Tools

if you really intend to use HD TDM, i'd be getting a G5, no ifs or buts about it.

i know there was a rackmount kit for the G4 but as the G5 is in a larger case, i'm not sure you'd find one. you could always have a sleeve lined case made up for it though.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-23-2005, 10:55 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,797
Default Re: Good desktop computer for Pro Tools

I often see rackmount adapter for the G5's in the back of Mix or Electronic Musician magazines. I see rackmount cases for PC with ATX format motherboards at some computer stores. Here in Southern California, there are Fry's Electronics and Micro Center. I don't see them at CompUSA however. If you check out the first post in sticky thread Best Desktops for PT where the Allenstein PC is specified, you'll also see three links to rack mount PC cases. A word of warning, do not assume that the rackmount cases will cost the same as your typical tower case. Tower cases go for about $59.00 to $129.00 depending on the configuration and asthetics and lights. Rackmount cases gor for about $159.00 to $399.00 for a plain old black or silver case. Ouch! But if you gotta have it, you gotta have it. The Sweetwater Creation Station systems have "Sheet Block" linings to reduce the noise from the computer. They also utilize quiet fans and rubber gromletted mounts for the hard drives. That might be why it cost more.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.13.6 running Protools 2018.7.0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good PC Desktop for ProTools LE 002? pribb1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 03-29-2008 01:08 PM
Good Desktop Background? 100grit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-01-2005 06:46 PM
Good powered desktop monitors for pro tools? Sf Audio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-06-2004 09:06 AM
Pro Tools & Internet on same computer,good or bad? fmbighair 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 17 06-24-2004 01:39 PM
Desktop Computer or Network Computer? platinumx99 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-07-2001 08:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com