Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-09-2008, 04:29 PM
zakco zakco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 547
Default VSS3 bypassing itself intermittently

I've been using VSS3 for about a month now and I'm really liking it but there is one annoying quirk I've been unable to pin down a cause for.

About 25% of the time when I open a project, vss3 doesn't work. The aux passes 100% dry audio. Simply bypassing and un-bypassing the plugin will make it work again. No crashes, just this weird intermittent bug.

Where it becomes a problem is when I'm running off mixes of multiple projects, one after another I have to be vigilante in checking for this or I end up with a mix that is wacked...like an extra few db of DRY vocals outta nowhere...one day I'm going to miss it and accidentally send a messed up mix off to a client. Won't that be fun...

Anyone else experience this?

I'm running OS 10.4.11 PT 7.4cs2 on a macpro quad 2.6

Thanks,

-Zak
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-09-2008, 05:06 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,487
Default Re: VSS3 bypassing itself intermittently

Quote:
Originally Posted by zakco View Post
I've been using VSS3 for about a month now and I'm really liking it but there is one annoying quirk I've been unable to pin down a cause for.

About 25% of the time when I open a project, vss3 doesn't work. The aux passes 100% dry audio. Simply bypassing and un-bypassing the plugin will make it work again. No crashes, just this weird intermittent bug.

Where it becomes a problem is when I'm running off mixes of multiple projects, one after another I have to be vigilante in checking for this or I end up with a mix that is wacked...like an extra few db of DRY vocals outta nowhere...one day I'm going to miss it and accidentally send a messed up mix off to a client. Won't that be fun...

Anyone else experience this?

I'm running OS 10.4.11 PT 7.4cs2 on a macpro quad 2.6

Thanks,

-Zak
How about automating a bypass toggle at the front of the track!

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-09-2008, 07:19 PM
zakco zakco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 547
Default Re: VSS3 bypassing itself intermittently

Now why didn't I think of that...?

I have a feeling it'll work, I'll try it and report back...

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-10-2008, 03:05 PM
tripit tripit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Posts: 394
Default Re: VSS3 bypassing itself intermittently

No problem here.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D-Control ES goes offline intermittently. sevierheights@gmail.com ICON & C|24 9 10-07-2010 01:26 PM
PRO TOOLS SCREEN FREEZES INTERMITTENTLY! Torchlight 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 10-15-2006 11:22 PM
Intermittently dropping in to record on playback tinfoil Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-12-2006 03:15 AM
Digi 001 Hardware Intermittently Found BASSKLEFF 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-27-2004 12:59 AM
Hardware not recognized, intermittently dkapz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-31-2000 03:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com