Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 02-25-2004, 10:17 AM

Default Volume is always too low

I'm sure this has been covered - i did all the obvious searches but can't find anything substantial.

I'm a newbie to PTLE (6.1)- After years of a buddy's convincing i finally dumped all my old gear (and Sonar) to join the big leagues! So now i'm hooked both on my new system (which is incidentally 5 years old by now - haha - 001 w/ Yammy 01v) and the DUC - i'm on this site every day!

So - one of the obvious differences between PTLE and the Sonar is- VOLUME.

i can't get my tracks 'LOUD' without peaking or distorting. My over-all mixes are cool and clear but the volume is considerably lower than what i used to get w/ Sonar - and are also much quieter than pro CD's / MP3's.

i do not want to resort to over compression - i keep the (Waves) L2 on the Master Fader - but keep it on one of the factory presets ('High Quality CD' - or something like that). I use the PAZ meters for reference - haven't sold my soul to them - not sure i totally trust them - but i have them up there for a visual.

What's the dilly? What's eveyone doing?

thanks (and this is a more better group than the ones in the past - the other had more questions than answers -sorry for all the babble
20gb system 60gb storage
Radeon 128mhz dual head video
Old 02-25-2004, 11:42 AM

Default Re: Volume is always too low

Hey, I'm having the same problem, I record my tracks at a fairly high level, but my final mastered session is always low and I need major compression to bring up the levels.
Old 02-25-2004, 11:55 AM

This will help: Mastering