Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-25-2010, 02:31 AM
ivolino ivolino is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16
Default Converting to Dolby Digital AC-3 stream?

I have to make my first Dolby Digital AC-3 5.1 mix. After I have mixed my 5.1 master how do I convert it to an AC-3 file which is confirm for DVD and for the HDCAM master tape? Do I need extra Plug-ins?

PT 9
CPK
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-25-2010, 04:48 AM
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,903
Default Re: Converting to Dolby Digital AC-3 stream?

You can't do this within ProTools. There are extra applications such as "A-Pack" or "Compressor".
Also keep in mind, that you have to be aware of the settings. You cannot just press a button and get your AC3. Or, well, you can do that, but the outcome will most probably be a mess.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-25-2010, 05:28 AM
ivolino ivolino is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16
Default Re: Converting to Dolby Digital AC-3 stream?

Do you know any software for PC?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-25-2010, 05:41 AM
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,903
Default Re: Converting to Dolby Digital AC-3 stream?

Unfortunately I don't. Always doing that on OSX.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-25-2010, 06:50 AM
pmx pmx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 12
Default Re: Converting to Dolby Digital AC-3 stream?

get either Neyrinck's or Minnetonka's AC3 solution. but it's gonna cost ya...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-25-2010, 08:31 PM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,836
Default Re: Converting to Dolby Digital AC-3 stream?

Neyrinck's software is GREAT. http://www.neyrinck.com/en/products/dolby-digital
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DTS vs Dolby Digital??? stormmusic Post - Surround - Video 11 08-18-2011 07:48 AM
DTS, Dolby Digital and Dolby E with Paul Neyrinck Brent_Sydney Post - Surround - Video 4 05-08-2009 04:32 PM
AC3 to Dolby Digital wav Richard Fairbanks Post - Surround - Video 9 02-14-2006 04:39 AM
DTS or Dolby DIGITAL 5.1 mix??? Rob Aubrey Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 10-02-2002 04:59 PM
Can ProTools HD set to work with Direct Stream Digital Audio scoobdaproduca Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-10-2002 02:04 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:23 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com