Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Duet & Pro Tools | Quartet

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-31-2020, 02:56 AM
nzskid nzskid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: London
Posts: 8
Default a good looking setup?

Hi there,
hopefully I've put this in the right place.

Looking to replace my 003.

Thinking I'll buy the Avid S1 with the Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 (3rd Generation) as the audio interface. Connected to a iMac 2017 running Catalina and Pro Tools 19.12.

Can anyone see a compatibility issue in there? I've been burnt too many times so want to double check.

Also, the Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 (3rd Generation) is USB2 not Thunderbolt. Is that a concern (thinking long term)?

I typically work solo, recording mics, keys and Midi.

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-31-2020, 10:59 PM
nzskid nzskid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: London
Posts: 8
Default Re: a good looking setup?

Have I put this in the wrong place?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-01-2020, 02:48 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,415
Default Re: a good looking setup?

Yes, this section of the DUC is specific to the DUET and QUARTET interfaces. Repost in the the section for Pro Tools 22019/2020 to get the most traffic, OR choose either the Windows or Mac sections(I see you are on a Mac). Given that you have thunderbolt, I would look for a thunderbolt interface as that will give the best performance when it comes to latency(Focusrite makes several if that's your preferred brand). Presonus also has several TB interfaces
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just to clarify, is this a good setup? charraig 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-27-2010 12:10 PM
My Mbox setup..is it good?? hoganguitar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-21-2006 08:08 PM
Good home setup for $1k-2k? pribb1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-08-2004 01:37 PM
Good home setup for $2k?? pribb1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 04-03-2004 01:16 PM
Good PC for a D24 setup.... Allbaldo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 08-21-2003 01:32 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com