Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-27-2020, 02:01 AM
mariomc mariomc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Spain
Posts: 1
Default ProTools First and Scarlett 8i6 only work at 44.1kHz

I have just installed protools first on a new computer/setup.

As the title states, I can only open projects at 44.1kHz

I thought I should be able to open projects on sample rates up to 96kHz


Here is my setup:

ProTools First version 2019.5.0
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6 3rd gen with Focusrite Control 3.5.0.1754
Mac Mini 8,1 with OS 10.14.6 with i5 processor and 8GB RAM.


Here is what I am doing:

I have configured system preferences to work with 8i6 on both output and input.

I have configured Audio midi setup to work at 96kHz

I have configured Focusrite Control to sync with my external AD converter at 96kHz

When I open the protools session the sample rate gets changed to 44.1 kHz.

In the protools session I go to Setup>Hardware and change it back to 96kHz. Then it changes back to 44.1kHz and a pop up message says "The HW device is at a different sample rate from the open session"

Is is possible to record at 96kHz using protools first and 8i6?

Am I doing something wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-27-2020, 04:17 PM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,896
Default Re: ProTools First and Scarlett 8i6 only work at 44.1kHz

It sounds like you set the Project to 44.1 when you created it.

Did you set your sample rate in the Playback Engine before creating the Project: http://akmedia.digidesign.com/suppor...irst_85131.pdf

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2019.12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Asus B450 Pro4 / Ryzen 5 2600 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro / Pro Tools 2019.12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-07-2020, 04:15 PM
endangeredspecies endangeredspecies is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Default Re: ProTools First and Scarlett 8i6 only work at 44.1kHz

Hi Joel,

I have a Scarlett 2i2 (3rd Gen) and tried what you recommend:

In Pro Tools First, before opening a project, set the playback engine sample rate to 48k. However, PTF almost immediately resets it back to 44.1kHz.

I've also followed some other online suggestions, but nothing seems to work. PTF keeps re-asserting sample rate back to 44.1kHz on my Focusrite 2i2 3rd Gen.

I appreciate the feedback.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does the Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 work better in Pro Tools 12 than in 11 baumjoe Pro Tools 12 3 10-28-2015 04:27 AM
scarlett 2i4 or saffire pro 16 work with pro tools 11? laperra Third Party Interfaces 2 02-21-2015 03:15 AM
Pro Tools 11 & Saffire 56 44.1khz does not work marcreeves Third Party Interfaces 5 07-23-2014 02:30 PM
PT10/Focusrite Scarlett/Win7 will not work at all jacobpo2 Windows 2 01-10-2012 07:28 AM
eleven rack 44.1khz does not work, common problem, do something please avid futurism Eleven Rack 8 10-16-2010 05:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com