Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-20-2018, 10:29 PM
tonyreed tonyreed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 37
Default Pro Tools Upgrade plan

After spending sometime seriously looking at alternatives to PT I ended paying the yearly conscription/upgrade plan for PT 2018. Over AU$400. Thats a lot of money. Dammed if I can see that much worth of improvement. Still get that ridiculous CPU spike error! Its got nothing to do with plug ins or the OS. Avid just don't ever fix it. And I don't want the packaged plug ins. Never use them and don't want to have to pay for them. I have a load of improvements i would like to see. Is there a suggestion box? Is it only me that thinks Avid is banking on us all staying on the PT platform cause its too hard to change? Seriously i am really looking for better value than the Avid business model produces.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-20-2018, 11:01 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,649
Default Re: Pro Tools Upgrade plan

Thank you for upgrading and sorry to hear you are still having trouble. I didn't see a support case on your account so created one on your behalf. CS will likely need your system info and logs to help isolate the cause.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-26-2018, 05:46 PM
tonyreed tonyreed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 37
Default Re: Pro Tools Upgrade plan

Ok thanks. I have sent in a reply to the help request.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-27-2018, 02:51 PM
Dylan Dylan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Manhattan Beach, CA USA
Posts: 58
Default Re: Pro Tools Upgrade plan

Yesterday I was charged the 399 annual fee...only to see today several online retailers giving 80 dollar discount for the same upgrade. Called Avid to see if the discount could be given to this many year loyal customer with auto - upgrade enabled...half hour later, have to call different department...and doesn't look good...

Seems an 80 dollar discount given days before my auto renewal should perhaps be offered...? Does that seem unreasonable...?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-28-2018, 07:03 AM
larsongs larsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 368
Default Re: Pro Tools Upgrade plan

Here's a Link I got from Avid re; 15% off til Dec. 31, 2018.. Hope it helps..

https://www.avid.com/special-offers/...BMOTNcL3ZrTyJ9
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-28-2018, 07:59 AM
jwilkers jwilkers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Louisville, KY.
Posts: 180
Default Re: Pro Tools Upgrade plan

I am usually not a ranter (it's not a word I know), and yes I have had my complaints with AVID. However, I too looked ALL over the place for something better. I tried them all. Still have up to date Logic Pro on my system. I was totally frustrated with PT. I guess PT depends on what you use it for, but to be honest, for my needs there is nothing better as far as stability and work flow. I record mostly live vocals and instruments in my studio, but I do use virtual drums at times and I use midi if I need to play some keyboard parts. Bottom line here IMO:
It's the best.
It's easiest to use.
The bug fixes are WAY more important to me than new features but I'll take them as they come.
And, not to tick anyone off, if you don't like it then feel free to move on. Find something you like and use it.
I can tell when PT is stable because this forum practically dies. And for the last few months it's been pretty dead in here. Maybe it's because I look every day.
Just my $.02. No offense intended.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-28-2018, 08:48 AM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 258
Default Re: Pro Tools Upgrade plan

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dylan View Post
Yesterday I was charged the 399 annual fee...only to see today several online retailers giving 80 dollar discount for the same upgrade. Called Avid to see if the discount could be given to this many year loyal customer with auto - upgrade enabled...half hour later, have to call different department...and doesn't look good...

Seems an 80 dollar discount given days before my auto renewal should perhaps be offered...? Does that seem unreasonable...?
I always buy my PT renewal from a retailer. It’s usually at least 20% off Avid’s price.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 64GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.6.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools HD Plan license expired on an active Pro Tools HD Upgrade and Support Plan zoundsabar Licensing & Accounts 1 11-15-2016 11:59 PM
Missing 1 qualifying license(s) for upgrade to Annual Upgrade Plan for Pro Tools 12 bangmusicdk Licensing & Accounts 0 11-12-2016 10:27 AM
Pro Tools Upgrade Upgrade Plan Extenstion adam79 Pro Tools 12 3 04-30-2016 10:07 AM
Pro Tools HD Plan license not updated after renewing Upgrade & Support Plan FritsFlits Licensing & Accounts 1 02-25-2016 02:55 PM
Pro Tools HD Plan license expired on an active Pro Tools HD Upgrade and Support Plan Licensing & Accounts 0 12-31-1969 04:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com