Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-15-2007, 08:45 PM
Simpson Simpson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 43
Default I want to hear my MIDI

OK, newbie here...

I'm using the Mbox 1 and I don't have any MIDI controllers. I want to be able to make midi notes (I know how to do this with the pencil tool) and hear them through my speakers.

Once I create notes with the pencil tool how do I make a patch work with it?

Is there something I need to do in my Audio MIDI setup in order for this to work?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-15-2007, 09:24 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: I want to hear my MIDI

You need to use a sound module of some kind.

It sounds like you don't quite understand exactly what MIDI is. MIDI isn't really music/audio. It's computer instructions for how to play an instrument, or perform a certain task (like turning a knob). You could really consider it "electronic sheet music".

By pencil-ing in MIDI notes, or even recording the MIDI output from a MIDI controller, you are basically "writing" this electronic sheet music. When the computer/Pro Tools plays back that MIDI data, it is reading the sheet music, but if it doesn't have an "instrument" to play (a MIDI sound module) then it won't produce any audio.

Understand?

So... You need to use a sound module of some kind. It can be an external hardware sound module ("old school"), or more popular these days, it could be a software instrument of some kind. You would need to choose which sound module you want to use, and take the steps to either physically hook it up, or install the software onto your computer.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-15-2007, 10:09 PM
Simpson Simpson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 43
Default Re: I want to hear my MIDI

Does Pro tools or Mac OS X have any pre-installed software instruments that I can use?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-15-2007, 10:17 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: I want to hear my MIDI

Pre-installed? No. All new Pro Tools systems come with several software instruments that you can install, though. They are available in the "Pro Tools Ignition Pack" that comes with all new systems. They require separate installation.

There are also quite a few available for free that you can download and install. I've got a list of them on my PT Newbie website. There are also other "How To" tutorials there that you might find useful, so feel free to browse around there.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-16-2007, 02:23 AM
gjohung gjohung is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 361
Default Re: I want to hear my MIDI

Get FREE Expand from Digi
__________________
Apple: MBP 2.53 - 4G RAM HDD 500G, iMac 27 inch 1TB
ProFire 2626, MBox Micro, PTMP 8, NIs, Strike, POD Farm, Logic 9, EJ Strat, 52 Tele RI, MB Mk 3, PRS CE22, Epi Casino, PBass, Variax, L6XTL, M13, DRRI, BM iGuitar, GR-33, KeyStation 88, Axiom 49
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-16-2007, 09:51 AM
Simpson Simpson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 43
Default Re: I want to hear my MIDI

I had PT LE 6.4 and downloaded 7.3 from the digidesign online store. Do you know if I would have the ignition pack since I don't have install discs?

Where do the instruments go once they're installed? I have a bunch of files with the .midinam extension in the deirectory: Library > Audio > MIDI Patch Names > Digidesign. Are these sounds I can use somehow?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-16-2007, 09:59 AM
Simpson Simpson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 43
Default Re: I want to hear my MIDI

What is Free Expand from Digi?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-16-2007, 01:38 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: I want to hear my MIDI

Xpand is Digidesign's free instrument. It is, unfortunately, too big to download. You can order the disk from the Digistore for the cost of shipping it to you ($10), and it's really worth every penny.

It also comes with the ignition pack, but since you apparently have an older version (bought used?) you do not have the ignition pack. It's a perk of buying a brand new system; it comes bundled with the whole system. New versions of the software aren't new systems, they are just new versions of the software, so they don't include the ignition pack.


Most of the "free" ones on the page that I linked you to ( this one right here... >>click me<< >>click me<<) can be downloaded and installed immediately and get you up and running in the least amount of time.

Quote:
I have a bunch of files with the .midinam extension in the deirectory: Library > Audio > MIDI Patch Names > Digidesign. Are these sounds I can use somehow?
No. Those are name files for hardware sound modules. You could use them if you had the hardware sound module that relates to the .midnam file. Do you have any of the hardware sound modules that relate to the .midnam files??
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't monitor/hear midi by highlighting the midi track and playing the keyboard jgagne1 Pro Tools Software (Mac) 4 01-18-2015 09:42 PM
I have a midi keyboard and electric drum kit...I can only hear drum's midi playback thrice506 MIDI 0 02-09-2014 12:18 PM
Can't hear MIDI Morten K MIDI 7 08-17-2007 02:02 AM
MIDI problem...can't change patch / hear MIDI missmason 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-05-2006 10:43 PM
Can't hear midi audio using plug-in midi instrumen Adriano 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-18-2006 11:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:04 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com