Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-30-2009, 05:04 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,017
Default Mbox1 and Snow Leopard

The original mbox will work with Pro Tools under SL, but NOT with other applications. At least that's what I conclude after some testing.

I would think that Digi core audio manager needs to be rewritten for it to work. This is a real pity, as I use the mbox for all audio, and it means I must choose to stay with leopard w/mbox or go SL and use built-in audio for all non-PT audio. Or by new interface.

I am not opimistic about Digidesign answering my prayers...

(OK, so I'm not running a studio and depend on this to make a living, but it sucks. I used to run a studio, now I do other stuff.)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-30-2009, 07:39 PM
Brad Gillie Brad Gillie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 78
Default Re: Mbox1 and Snow Leopard

Why don't you just wait until Digidesign qualifies PTLE for Snow Leopard before you jump to conclusions? How do you know that they will have to "rewrite" the Core Audio Manager? It might just simply be a tweak that will come out in a CS update. You can't expect everything to work the way it has just a couple of days after the release of a new OS from Apple. Wait until Digi qualifies Snow Leopard before you panic.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-31-2009, 05:27 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,017
Default Re: Mbox1 and Snow Leopard

I'm NOT "jumping to conclusions", I just said I wasn't optimistic.
And that is because I know that the problem is only w/mbox1 wich obviously is going the same way my Digi001 went, sooner rather than later, into the legacy cupboard.

And I don't "expect everything to work", I simply thought I'd inform those interested of my findings. I am not panicing.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-31-2009, 02:55 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Mbox1 and Snow Leopard

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
I'm NOT "jumping to conclusions", I just said I wasn't optimistic.
And that is because I know that the problem is only w/mbox1 wich obviously is going the same way my Digi001 went, sooner rather than later, into the legacy cupboard.

And I don't "expect everything to work", I simply thought I'd inform those interested of my findings. I am not panicing.

Support for the 001 was mainly dropped because Mac dropped PCI in favor of PCIe.

I'm paraphrasing here but DTS or some one else from Digi posted that the bus powered stuff (USB & FW) will be supported as long as it was feasible. Presumably older products like the original MBox and 002 series are last on the support list after the current line up. Unless theres some insurmountable problem I would expect continued support for the original MBox.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-31-2009, 04:18 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Mbox1 and Snow Leopard

Quote:
Support for the 001 was mainly dropped because Mac dropped PCI in favor of PCIe.
Yup. Got me..

It's kind of funny how Apple has Digi by the short curlys in some ways.. Especially now that Logic is in the mix...

The most recent thing is all this BS with FW800 vs FW 400 vs no FW at all...
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-31-2009, 04:39 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,799
Default Re: Mbox1 and Snow Leopard

Quote:
Originally Posted by flommer View Post
apple has digi by the short curlys in some ways.
lol
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.13.6 running Protools 2018.7.0
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-31-2009, 06:41 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Mbox1 and Snow Leopard

Quote:
Originally Posted by flommer View Post
Yup. Got me..

It's kind of funny how Apple has Digi by the short curlys in some ways.. Especially now that Logic is in the mix...

The most recent thing is all this BS with FW800 vs FW 400 vs no FW at all...
I'll admit that I havent checked lately but I'm assumimg FW400 is all but dead as a interface. The PC consumer stuff is all USB or eSATA, and Macland is all about FW800 and USB. So short of a few audio guys scrambling for drives and audio interface manufacterers FW400 looks to be a desolate place pretty soon. I do still see more FW400 audio interfaces than FW800 but assume that will slowly change. It will be interesting to see if anyone updates their older interfaces to FW800 or designs newer without the older FW400 connector.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-31-2009, 06:43 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Mbox1 and Snow Leopard

A lot of Video I/O boxes and decks are still FW400
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-31-2009, 07:07 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Mbox1 and Snow Leopard

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
A lot of Video I/O boxes and decks are still FW400
But are the new ones being issued with FW800 or FW400?
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-31-2009, 08:04 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Mbox1 and Snow Leopard

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
I'll admit that I havent checked lately but I'm assumimg FW400 is all but dead as a interface. The PC consumer stuff is all USB or eSATA, and Macland is all about FW800 and USB. So short of a few audio guys scrambling for drives and audio interface manufacterers FW400 looks to be a desolate place pretty soon. I do still see more FW400 audio interfaces than FW800 but assume that will slowly change. It will be interesting to see if anyone updates their older interfaces to FW800 or designs newer without the older FW400 connector.
The FW400 vs FW800 thing shouldn't be a problem, but there are plenty of reports of the adapter cables not working, etc..

As long as they continue to enforce the backward compat specs we'll be OK for a while..

I wasn't actually aware of any FW800 interfaces yet.. Doesn't seem like something that gets a lot of coverage..
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 7.4.2 with mbox1 on snow leopard seems to work? skiman123 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-18-2012 04:18 PM
Leopard to snow leopard clean or update install joji Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 01-01-2011 02:21 PM
Couldn't get snow leopard install to stabilize from leopard clone update! crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-11-2010 04:45 PM
Native Instruments Akoustik & Elektrik Piano Compatibility on Leopard & Snow Leopard DigiTechSupt Virtual Instruments 0 01-07-2010 11:08 AM
If buying Imac and MBox2 tomorrow: Leopard or Snow Leopard? Jairo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 11-22-2009 03:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com